×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    53

    Dialog with predictive text input

    Hi,

    is it possible to have a predictive text input in dialog? CAknTextDialog offers only the possibility to change between uppercase and lowercase.. :(

    Any help appreciated!

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,143
    at least you could make dialog and just put a standard edwin in there. Then you could adjust the behaviour by setting the flags to it.

    or would query dialogs be enough (see query example)?

    yucca

  3. #3
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    53

    Query example

    Thanks for the quick answer Yucca.

    It is interesting that Query example shows the predictive text input possibility in the SDK documentation, but when i build the application it uses only upper and lowercases... :(

    I am pretty new to Symbian so could you point me to an example code on how to (just) put an Edwin in a dialog...

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,143
    have you checked how it works on the target phones, maybe there is just something wrong with the emulator.

    Anyway, here's how to make a dialog line with edwin:

    DLG_LINE
    {
    type = EEikCtEdwin;
    id = EMyText;
    control = EDWIN
    {
    flags = EEikEdwinInclusiveSizeFixed;
    width = 25;
    lines = 1;
    maxlength = 50;
    };
    }

    I took it from Series 80 project, but it should work just about same in Series 60.

    yucca

  5. #5
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    195

    Re: Dialog with predictive text input

    Hi Yucca,
    do you know if it is possible to check if a word is underlined by T9 in
    a CEikEdwin ? does CAknEdwinState offer such information?

  6. #6
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wiltshire, UK
    Posts
    3,644

    Re: Dialog with predictive text input

    I assume you mean CAknTextQueryDialog in which case just call the SetPredictiveTextInputPermitted method before displaying the dialog
    Download Symbian OS now! [url]http://developer.symbian.org[/url]

  7. #7
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    131

    Re: Dialog with predictive text input

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul.Todd View Post
    I assume you mean CAknTextQueryDialog in which case just call the SetPredictiveTextInputPermitted method before displaying the dialog
    thanks,
    it worked,

    just for the sake of others, here's a sample :

    Code:
    CAknMultiLineDataQueryDialog* dlg =
    		CAknMultiLineDataQueryDialog::NewL(userName, password);
    		dlg->SetPredictiveTextInputPermitted(ETrue);
    		if (!dlg->ExecuteLD(R_DIALOG_USER_PASSWORD_QUERY))
    			{
    			return;
    			}
    the HTTPClient API should've include this line in the Engine class.

    dlg->SetPredictiveTextInputPermitted(ETrue);

    =)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •