Discussion Board

Exclamation Making a game without all the GUI APIs

Hello there. I am a student who likes to program in his freetime. I have yesterday started with Symbian since it has a large target audience and seems like a fast and capable OS to make games for.

The main focus of the SDK seems to be programming APPS. Those APPS use the native GUI style thus making it look 'bland' and 'yet another program'. In my game I want the player to immerse in it's world immediately.
    Now I couldn't find any pointers on how to immediately exit the native GUI and start your own environment. Does anyone know if this is posible and could you possibly give me any pointers to how? :0

Not sure what you are meaning with your enviroment, but im guessing you are doing something like this in your appui's ConstructL

iAppContainer->ConstructL( ClientRect() );

to get access to full screen just call instead of the previous

iAppContainer->ConstructL( ApplicationRect() );

Well what I mean is that Series 60 provides the developer of applications with alot of standard elements like textbox, lists. I don't need and want all of these. So I was wondering if I could get rid of them.
    I saw that the Symbian OS specific examples don't make use of these elements whereas the Series60 examples do make use of these. So I was wondering if i make a game I can continue on a Symbian OS specific example and not use a series60 example.

Nokia Developer Expert
    Hi

Try to search forum.nokia with keyword "direct screen". You should findd a documents, e.g. Series 60 Developer Platform 1.0: Direct Screen AccessÂ_ Example v1.1

Br V

Thanks, that helped me alot .

Super Contributor
    But even if you will draw everything by yourself you still need the basic framework. Classes like Ceikapplication, ceikappui, ceikdocument, etc...

Regular Contributor
    Hi,