×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    17

    Noki6600 addCommand() in fullscreen still not working with new firmware?

    I have a problem with a Nokia 6600.

    There's a known bug for adding Commands to a fullscreen canvas. Adding a command works, but the Commands do not react on selection.

    See also: section 2.11 in Known_Issues_In_The_Nokia_6600_v1_5_en.

    This issue exists for firmware version 3.42.1, but should have been corrected in firmware 4.09.1. (though section 2.10 says no solution exists for 3.42.1 or 4.09.1, confusing).

    I wrote a test program for testing on this bug. I tested it on a 6600 with firmware 5.27.0 and it failed.

    Can anyone confirm this?

  2. #2
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    125
    Hi,

    Yes there is the same problem with the 4.09.1 version. In the fullscreen mode, you can add all the commands you want, there is no reaction at execution...

    But I have another problem, the getHeight() function seems not to give the correct height when you choose the fullscreen mode...

    Thanks

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    17
    The getHeight() in fullscreen canvas bug is a well known problem.
    You can construct a solution which looks like the one below.

    Extend Canvas and override the getHeight() function.

    Code:
    public int getHeight() {
      if(super.getHeight()==144)
        return 208;
      else return super.getHeight();
    }

  4. #4
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    125
    Yes, thanks, it's a solution (for the Nokia 6600 only)...

    Another problem is that the exit command is not accessible in the fullscreen mode. So how to exit the midlet in this mode ?

    The same probem exists if you don't want to use the exit menu option...

    A solution ?

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    21

    you should process key by yourself!

    you should process key by yourself!

    implement keypressed event procedure.
    like this.

    int quitkey = -7;

    keyPressed(int keyCode )
    {
    if (keyCode == quitkey)
    MIDlet.destroyapp(true)
    }

  6. #6
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    66
    it is said from the API that fullCanvas and J2ME command cannot be used at the same time.
    if using fullCanvas, you can only implement keyPressed .....This is what is get from the API.

    pls notice if there is any update...

    Pinga

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2
    Anyone knows a workaround for this problem using standard MIDP 2.0 ?

    I've tried redefining GameCanvas' keyPressed but no key input is detected when soft keys are pressed.

    Thanks in advance.
    Joan.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    17
    You probably construct your GameCanvas by calling the superclass constructor with super(true);
    By calling it with true, the keys other than FIRE,DOWN,UP,LEFT,RIGHT will be suppressed.
    You can fix this by calling super(false);
    In this way your keyPressed() method will be called on every keyevent.

    Originally posted by joansegura
    Anyone knows a workaround for this problem using standard MIDP 2.0 ?

    I've tried redefining GameCanvas' keyPressed but no key input is detected when soft keys are pressed.

    Thanks in advance.
    Joan.
    Last edited by mkleijer; 2005-03-01 at 13:43.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    17
    I've made a workaround for this bug by creating my own menu's.
    - create a list with the low level ui api
    - add items to the list (your menu items, you would normally use addCommand() for this)
    - assign the list to react on the keyevent of a softbutton, so it shows it on canvas.
    You got the idea?

    As long as there's no solution for this problem, we have to do it the hard way.

    Originally posted by frasene
    Yes, thanks, it's a solution (for the Nokia 6600 only)...

    Another problem is that the exit command is not accessible in the fullscreen mode. So how to exit the midlet in this mode ?

    The same probem exists if you don't want to use the exit menu option...

    A solution ?

    Thanks

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2
    I think I'm gonna go the "hard way".

    Thanks for your help.
    Best regards.
    Joan.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×