×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    4

    streaming on 3650 ?

    Can i palyback real-time vedio on 3650?
    The 3650 support H.263 and MPEG-4, so i think it does.

    if i could, how could i achieve the goal?
    using MMAPI or other ways?

    thanks a lot.

  2. #2
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    90
    You can play supported video from a url using mmapi, but it is not true streaming. The player implementation buffers the entire stream before starting.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    4
    "buffers the entire stream "

    if my source is webcam and i want to show it on the phone
    then i have to implementat it on real streaming.

    is any phone can do that ?

    thanks a lot.
    Last edited by cowbjt; 2005-02-02 at 16:33.

  4. #4
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    90
    If you can break up the stream and use a new player for each chunk of the stream, it is possible on some models. I've done this on a 6620, but I don't know if it will work on a 3650. You can read data continuously from a socket while playing. If you have audio, there will be a slight break when you switch players.

    I don't know if any Nokia phones support true streaming (I haven't tried the newest OS 8.0 phones). The Sony Ericsson V800 is one device that supports real streaming via RTSP.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    4
    Would you tell me which language you use?
    I use j2me, and i do not know how to receive the stream by j2me.

    ps. The sent stream is created by JMF

  6. #6
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    90
    I'm using J2ME with a custom protocol to communicate with a server via sockets. You could try implementing your own RTP client on J2ME (there is a lot of sample code floating around). Some people have reported doing that, but have run into the player buffering problem.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    4
    Does the server side have to modify the code, if i use a custom protocol on phone?

    And would you mind show some links about the sample code ?

    thanks

  8. #8
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    90
    Sorry, I don't have any links off hand, you'll have to do some searching. I'm not using rtp, I have a custom protocol specific to my application, so I can't offer much advice on that.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×