Discussion Board

Thread: Adding Images

Adding Images

hi,

Im new to J2ME and the forums, doing a college project having alot of difficulties.

I have this command listener line:
    private Command exitCommand = new Command("Exit", Command.EXIT, 99);
    But what does the "99" refer to.

The game is for a phone but how do you map the keys on a keypad (the specific phone is the Nokia 3510i, its a series 40).

I`m having awful trouble with images i have this code but it doesn`t work:

(inside the class)
    Image Image1;

(inside a function)
    try { Image1=Image.createImage("/logo_PNG.png");
    }
    catch(Exception e)
    {
    message="error";
    }

The program runs but never displays the iimage, the picture just never goes into Image1.

Using the debug mode in JBuilder I get: Image1: javax.microedition.lcdui.Image = null

Any help will be greatly appreciated

Super Contributor
    Hi...

"99" referes to the priority of ur command!

Check whether u have placed an image in the res folder!

Also where are u trying to display the image?? in a form or in Canvas?? I Did not find any code to display the image in ur code
    regards
    Gopal

Trying to display the image in a canvas.

Not sure what you mean by the re folder. the images currently is in the classes folder.

found out that command.exit will map the exit button to what is "usually" the exit button on the particular phone. is this true

If it is how do you address the number keys?

thanks.

Super Contributor
    Hi...

The Images should be in the resources folder(res).not in Classes folder; That may be the problem.

And about EXIT:
    A command used for exiting from the application. When the user invokes this command, the implementation does not exit automatically. The application's commandAction will be called, and it should exit the application if it is appropriate to do so.
    Value 7 is assigned to EXIT.(plz check the API docs)