×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    7

    connect to a server through LAN

    hello all,
    I am new to this Symbian world. Now I want to do here is, I have 2 machines in which one of them running Fedoracore3 and another win2000. I am using VC++,series 60 dev edition and want to connect to that linux pc from win and access mysql database. That is to read data from there and also to write there.
    Is this possible??
    If yes then please let me know .
    Thanks in advance.
    Any link will also be a great help. Currently studying the sdk help.

    Regards
    Tanveer

  2. #2
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    153
    Hi,

    Yeah,you can connect the two computer's through the LAN.

    Make sure that you connect the emulator to the LAN before trying to establish a connection between two computers.

    Cheers,
    Sunil

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    7
    Thanks very much for your reply. I can browse internet with the emulator. Can u be more precise how to retrieve data of mysql database from linux pc ??

  4. #4
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    153
    Hi,

    Firstly,you have to write a program which can accept and send data making use of sockets. For this you have to be thorough with the socket programming and once you receive the data at the other end,you can do the further processing of the received data i.e, accessing the database etc.

    Hope i'm clear to you,

    Cheers,
    Sunil

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    7
    thank you very much. I will now look into the socket programming in the SDK help.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    7
    Hello all,
    Me back again. I am having problem on connecting my emulator in LAN. How to coonect ??
    I am using Nokia Series60 SDK FP2.
    From tools -> Ethernet SEttings->
    I gave here my ip address with netmask,default Gateway.
    Here they are :
    IP : 192.168.19.19
    netmask: 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway: 192.168.19.191
    I am getting internet connection through DHCP. Is that a problem?
    In DNS server I gave the DNS server IP. which is same as Default gateway.
    But it gives me an error like
    CSocketsEngine Timed Out -33
    Am I missing something?

    regards
    Tanveer

  7. #7
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    153
    Hi,

    Make sure that u give an IP address to emulator which is different to that of your computer and which is free in your LAN.

    Check the box of "Network adapter in promiscuous mode".

    Give proxy server address and the port as 8080 and select the appropriate adapter.

    Cheers,
    Sunil

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    7
    thanks Sunil
    The problem is, I am not using proxy server.Using the internet through DHCP. So will it work without proxy ?
    And more over how to select the adapter becuase I can't use the NIC of my PC?

    -regards
    Tanveer
    Last edited by mahfuz_tan; 2005-02-18 at 05:03.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    47

    Re: connect to a server through LAN

    Quote Originally Posted by mahfuz_tan
    thanks Sunil
    The problem is, I am not using proxy server.Using the internet through DHCP. So will it work without proxy ?
    And more over how to select the adapter becuase I can't use the NIC of my PC?

    -regards
    Tanveer
    I have the same problem, have you any result? If you know how to solve this i'd appreciate some advice.

    Thanks in advance.
    Fer.-

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×