Discussion Board

Unhappy Cannot get CameraApp to work

HI everyone,

I have been trying to write a program to interface with the onboard camera of a Nokia 6630. I have tried running the example program CameraApp both on the SDK emulator and on my phone and in both cases the program terminates immediately when it is loaded. I am using Symbian SDK Version 2 with Feature Pack 2.

Is there a problem with this example program? I find this hard to believe as it is from Nokia - so do the emulator and my camera support the new CCamera API? I ask this as I managed to get a small program to take pictures from the camera using the older RCameraServ API on the emulator.

If the example program is simply buggy then could someone point me to where the bug is? I am a newbie to Symbian C++ and have no idea where to look.

I have used the CameraApp example to build my own application. I can get this application to run but I can't get either the viewfinder or the captured image to display on screen. It's as if the program simply does nothing. I am not even sure if it successfully connects to the camera server!

I don't know how to display error messages and find out what is going on in my code so I am stuck. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Ryan

Nokia Developer Moderator
    you should use the ECam camera example instead of the old OS 6.1 camera server example.

The camera system was changed already in OS 7.0, and the old camera server is not supported anymore in OS 8.0 phones.

yucca

Hi,

Just to clarify:

The Nokia 6630 is a Symbian OS 8.0 phone.

The CameraApp example I was using uses the ECam library but it still does not work on the 6630.

If there is a different ECam example I am unaware of it. Could you provide a direct link to it for me?

Many thanks!

Ryan

Nokia Developer Moderator
    ok, if I remember right, there was some errors on the audio file. So remove the "click" sound playing from it and it should work fine.

yucca

Problem Solved! :)