Discussion Board

Wink Nokia 7710 and 3gp screen size

Hi there,

Like many on this forum I am new to the development of Symbian OS software...please excuse me if this has been covered before.

Can anyone tell me if the video screen size for 3gp or mp4 formats that are played back using the pre-installed RealOne player can be anything other than the 176x144 QCIF standard?

The rm format allows for the correct aspect ratio of video (i.e. 16:9) to fill the widescreen of the 7710 but 3gp and mp4 appears to be limited to the standard screen format.

What is the considered opinion of forum members for the scope of developing a Symbian OS player that will give the end user more flexibility in how they view 3gp and mp4 widescreen videos on the 7710?

...or am I just barking up the wrong tree and the phone is already capable of such functionality? ;-)

Thanks in advance,
    Grazza2a.

Nokia Developer Champion
    There's at least this video player that can use more of the screen on the 7710: http://www.lonelycatgames.com/mobile...martmovie.html

Thanks, I have looked at both Smartmovie and another piece of software called Mobile Movie Maker. Both only seem to support avi files. These are great in their own right but I find the 7710 falls over on anything other than the lowest of settings.

Discussing this with a few firends of mine who already own the 7710, we all agreed that with regards to playing video on a hand held device, we have already sacrificed picture quality and so would rather make sure that we had the best sound experience possible to make up for the perceived loss of image size and frame rate.