Discussion Board

Regular Contributor

Question CDMA cellular triangulation??

Hi All,

I dont know how GSM, CDMA networks work...

I wanted to know a few things,

- Is cellular triangulation possible in CDMA?
    - What information is required to be provided by the operator for such an application?
    - Can such an application be developed in Mobile Java or Symbian C++?
    Any pointers are greatly appreciated.

I am not a telecom engineer, so i dont know this...

Please help.

Thanks!

--Anand.

Super Contributor
    On any cellular network, the network operator can locate which cell (base station) the phone is connected to.

The network operator can also detect which other cells/base stations "see" the phone (which tends to stay connected to the one with the strongest signal).

The network operator also knows exactly where each base station is physically, what kind of antenna it has, where it is directed, what kind of delays and other signal timing is going on between the phone and the base station, etc.

With all this information and some math the network operator can approximate the relative position of the phone (not simple triangulation, exactly, but anyway).

The theory of what information is needed and how it can be used to calculate the approximate location is the same (some details vary from network technology to another).

The details of how to get that information from network elements (network devices/servers and their software) varies and depends what and whose network equipment is used.

Now, there is no way that a phone (an application running on on the phone) can have direct access to such information (and no network operator makes all such data available directly either).

However, a network operator can - if they want to - set up a service that will give the phone's position (to the phone - or an application on it - itself, or another phone or other system).