×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    8

    Low level and High Level User Interface....?

    I'm doing a program that user interface requires displaying at the same time both Low level and high level user interface. Low level for decorating and drawing, high level for display list and commands....

    Anybody how to do that, until now if i display
    at startApp(){ display.setCurrent(...); } only one of them will appear at
    the startApp() ...so confusing!!

  2. #2
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    249
    You cannot display 2 things at the same time. In each screen, you cannot mix both low level and high level api. You have to choose either one.

    display.setCurrent (...) only displays one thing at a time. It does not "merge" displays.

    So if you do:
    display.setCurrent (item1);
    display.setCurrent(item2);

    only item2 will be displayed on screen.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    8
    If so i will choose to display Low level, it leads to another problem that i want to ask is how to display implicit list to choose, display on main screen by Low level (not display as Commands) ... anybody can help?

  4. #4
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    249
    Can you rephrase your question? What do you mean?

    You can display lists alone by just using:

    display.setCurrent (list);
    But you cannot append the list to a canvas. I don't think you can append anything to a canvas except adding commands. Anything else you want, you will have to draw it out.

    If you need to mix both lists and graphics, consider using customItem. But it is only available in MIDP 2.0.

    Try looking at these code samples under User Interface:
    http://developers.sun.com/techtopics.../index.html#ui

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    8
    Thank you very much! i think i have to use CustomItem...

    Have you see J2ME Polish UI, very pretty and clean, i still don't know how can they do that? let's check http://www.j2mepolish.org!

  6. #6
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    249
    j2me polish provides you with additional packages. Those screenshots are what you can accomplish using their packages. It's open source so if you want to know how they do it, download the source and take a look at it.

    You can also accomplish those images by programming it yourself. But it'll take a lot more time obviously.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    5

    Re: Low level and High Level User Interface....?

    Hi,

    you can't mix form & canvas together.

    If in case you want to decorate ur UI, either use canvas & draw ur...textboxes, radio buttons etc. through code or just use forms as it is.

    Thanks

  8. #8
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,708

    Re: Low level and High Level User Interface....?

    "I don't think you can append anything to a canvas except adding commands."

    actually you can also append a Ticker by using setTicker() method...

  9. #9
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Noida, U.P.
    Posts
    1,330

    Thumbs up Re: Low level and High Level User Interface....?

    for better UI i suggest u to use canvas. U can add commands. But i dont suggest u to add commands of high level api. For better avoid high level UI and use canvas. ya its little bit tedious but it will be quite good for UI.
    thanks,
    jitu_goldie..

    KEEP TRYING..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •