Discussion Board

Question Visual C++: LIB not found linker error

Howdy,

I am new to Visual Studio .NET 2003 and 2nd Edition FP2 SDK. When I used the "Import Symbian project" function for my Symbian projects and added them to my solution, it seems that the Visual C++'s Build function does not link correctly. I have several projects that build a dll, and I have set the compilation order correctly (via dependencies).

When I try to build the solution, the linker does not find the .lib files that are related to the projects that were just built. It tries to find the libs from weird places, such as the project's home dir, ./ and such places. Where can I set that directory in Visual C++?

In command prompt everything works fine. Also if I use abld makefile vc7 instead on the "Import Symbian project" function, compilation & linking works. But then I cannot get the code completion (Intellisense) to work correctly.

-Jussi

Super Contributor
    Hi,

You don't explicitely indicate if you are using NDS, but from your question I assume that this is the case so I will provide an answer from the NDS perspective.

NDS does not automatically set up those kinds of dependencies for emulator builds (target builds and running abld are based on information in the bld.inf file and the mmp file and if you have set up those, then they will work properly).

To add a library reference to your project, you need to do the following 2 steps for each Deb_xxx_WINS(CW) configuration:

Select: Project -> Properties -> C/C++ -> General -> Additional Include Directories.
    Add the path to the library header file here.

Select: Project -> Properties -> Linker -> Input -> Additional Depencies
    Add here the name of the library: <mylib>.lib

Note that this info will then be propagated to the .mmp file if you have mpp update enabled. You need to add this info into the Deb_xx _WINS(CW) configuration for each SDK that you have enabled for your project.