×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    4

    When can you set the screensaver's Refresh Timer Value?

    Simple:
    ----------
    How often can you set the refresh timer value of a series 60 screensaver? It looks like you can only safely set it within MScreensaverPlugin::Initialize! (?)

    Details:
    ----------
    I'm writing a Series60 screensaver plugin, using the MScreensaverPluginHost / MScreensaverPlugin framework.

    I find setting the refresh timer value can be problematic.

    When can the refresh timer value be set? It works if you set it within MScreensaverPlugin::Initialize, but not if you set it within MScreensaverPlugin::Draw (occasionally the screensaver host seems to suffer a KERN EXEC 15).

    This makes me suspect there's an issue with the refresh timer in the screensaver host. I tried creating an active object of my own, to set the refresh timer from there instead of directly within the 'Draw'.

    This works on the series 60 emulator but not on the series 60 devices - it seems that the host accepts and updates the refresh timer *value* but silently ignores the change to the actual *timer* --- ie the screensaver continues with the same refresh rate as before.

    ( I'm using the RefreshTimerValue() getter to check that I'm successfully setting the refresh timer value ).
    Last edited by azhrei; 2005-07-27 at 07:56.

  2. #2
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    393

    What is phone model & firmware version?

    Hi,

    What is phone model & firmware version you face this issue on?

    It would also help if you could attach a test screensaver that demonstrates the issue.

    Forum Nokia
    [N]

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    4

    Reproducible screensaver problems

    Hi,

    We use Nokia 6630s and 6680s mainly - also 6670/7610's.

    Example firmware version:
    V 3.45.113 (a 6630)

    Example screensaver is coming...

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    10

    Re: When can you set the screensaver's Refresh Timer Value?

    Can anyone please tell me how to check the firmware version on a 6620??

    Thanks,
    Bruce

  5. #5
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    393

    Re: When can you set the screensaver's Refresh Timer Value?

    Hi,

    Typing *#0000# on the idle screen should return the software version. Programmatically it should be possible by using SysUtil::GetSwVersion(). Please look for SysUtil in SDK Help. This API has been available since Series 60 2nd Edition (2.0). It requires sysutil.h and sysutil.lib.

    There is a screensaver example on the PRO site (www.forum.nokia.com/pro) now, which you could use to demonstrate the problem faced with refresh timers.

    [N]
    Forum Nokia

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    42

    Re: When can you set the screensaver's Refresh Timer Value?

    i want to run it in midlet but not in canvas

  7. #7
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    9,968

    Re: When can you set the screensaver's Refresh Timer Value?

    Quote Originally Posted by praran910 View Post
    i want to run it in midlet but not in canvas
    original thread (3 year old)is for symbian.c++, you can try posting your problem in mobile java section.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •