×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    33

    Exclamation S60 3rd Edition - Can't Debug in .NET 2003

    Hi all,

    I have installed S60 3rd Edition, GCCE Compiler and Carbide for .NET 2003. I can compile and run my application in the emulator, but seems I can't debug the application. I have already inserted a breakpoint in the source code. However, the application can't break.

    Please help me about this issue as it is difficult to go on the development without debugging function.

    Regards,
    Steve Lai

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,048

    Re: S60 3rd Edition - Can't Debug in .NET 2003

    In general there should be no issue with debugging. Your message does not provide any information as to why debug fails or what might be the problem, so you need to provide more specific information. Output log, error messages or similar are needed to provide any more advice.

    Note though that Carbide.vs does not support debugging on the phone, only on the emulator.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    33

    Re: S60 3rd Edition - Can't Debug in .NET 2003

    I means my emulator (3rd edition) and .NET 2003 can't debug my code.
    I have insert breakpoints in the code and then run the code using emulator. When it reachs the code with breakpoint, the emulator didn't break. So I can't see the value of the variable during execution.

  4. #4
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,048

    Re: S60 3rd Edition - Can't Debug in .NET 2003

    Well, I am just running a debug session with the 3.0 SDK and there is no problem breaking. The only thing that I can think of is that a user needs to be a member of the "Debugger Users" user group on the machine to debug. Normally you are set up in this group if you have admin rights, check this.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    33

    Re: S60 3rd Edition - Can't Debug in .NET 2003

    Hi Mitts,

    Are you using .NET 2003 and Carbide?
    How did you create the project in .NET 2003?

  6. #6
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,048

    Re: S60 3rd Edition - Can't Debug in .NET 2003

    Yes, I use VS 2003 and Carbide :-). The project I tried debugging was a sample that I had created using Import Symbian Project, but it works when you create from the New project as well..

  7. #7
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Brasov, Romania
    Posts
    431

    Re: S60 3rd Edition - Can't Debug in .NET 2003

    Put a breakpoint in your E32Main() function. This is the entry point of the application. If you imported a S60 2nd edition project you must change a few things. First of all, the entry point (from E32Dll() to E32Main()).

    Check the documentation available on Forum Nokia.

Similar Threads

  1. OpenGL ES on S60 3rd Edition SDK Emulator
    By specjones in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2008-09-30, 10:22
  2. TTime : TInt64& Int64() problem in S60 3rd edition
    By iulian_moldovan in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-01-24, 13:07
  3. S60 + Visual Studio .Net 2003 Link error, but command line fine
    By redmeat in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2005-12-22, 10:05
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2005-12-20, 11:36
  5. OpenGL ES Support in S60 3rd Edition Beta SDK
    By choefele in forum Symbian Media (Closed)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-12-14, 06:01

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •