Discussion Board

WHY DON"T SOMEONE REPLY??[help needed.plz do reply]

hello,
    i m supposed to design a simple multiplayer game for mobiles.its my semester project at my college and i have 3 months.i have no knowledge of mobile gaming,have worked with JAVA.i am planning to design a simple board game.i need to know the following things
    1)what are the steps actually involved in designing any (simple)multiplayer game??
    2)what all am i supposed to learn to design a simple multiplaye game from scratch??
    3)plz help me with ebooks,tutorials etc stuff which focus on multiplayer game development for mobiles.
    waiting for ur replies
    THANKS
    Last edited by toonaughty85; 2006-01-24 at 03:40.

Re: multiplayer game designing[help needed.plz do reply]

plz someone reply

1. Think about a simple multiplayer game. Really simple because you do not have a lot of time and mobile devices have limited memory. Do not underestimate the possible complexity of the game. Multiplayer adds a whole other level. How do you deal with latency or other issues?

2. Check out your local bookstores for java gaming, best case java wireless gaming.
    Surf the net and check sites.

You need to plan and get to work real soon. This may not be trivial and you want to hand in something that works.

Good luck

In such a less time frame you may try turn based games like Tic-Tac-Toe

Regular Contributor

one more thing to consider:
    when you say design a multiplayer game, do you need both players to be on different phones?

If no, meaning that both players can share a phone (like in the case of Tic Tac Toe), then your job is much easier programming wise (imo at least).

If yes, you need to decide on the mode of communication (my guess at this point would prolly be bluetooth), and find out which phones support it, and in the case of bluetooth, learn the Bluetooth API.