×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    151

    "component is built-in" error while installing sis file

    I'm using series60 3rd version. In my pkg file, I copied a dll file to !:\sys\bin\. But when I installed the sis file on phone, I got "can not install, component is built-in" error, then exit.

    I guess that it is because there is already a dll file in the phone with the same name. So I judge the condition in the pkg file like this:
    IF NOT (exists("!:\sys\bin\dllname.dll"))
    "dllname.dll"-"!:\sys\bin\dllname.dll"
    ENDIF

    also I tried
    IF NOT (exists("dllname.dll"))
    "dllname.dll"-"!:\sys\bin\dllname.dll"
    ENDIF

    But it still gets the same error message.

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    india
    Posts
    2,078

    Re: "component is built-in" error while installing sis file

    hi

    u got to specify the directory to which u want to sent it c or d drive.

    Try this out.

    i guess dll's cannnot be loaded again once the phone starts

    Regards,
    Mateen Maldar

  3. #3
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    151

    Re: "component is built-in" error while installing sis file

    Thanks.
    I am sure there is a same name dll file on the phone. So I want to check whether there is already the dll file in the phone in the pkg file to ensure my app can still work if the dll file is removed from the phone.

    I wonder if the exists(filename) can judge a dll file.

  4. #4
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Brasov, Romania
    Posts
    431

    Re: "component is built-in" error while installing sis file

    You cannot deploy dlls to the phone in the old fashioned S60 2nd edition way. You must install them also as separate applications:

    http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...ad.php?t=73987

  5. #5
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    272

    Re: "component is built-in" error while installing sis file

    I don't think a DLL with the same _name_ is the problem, that shouldn't matter at all. I believe you might be using a UID that's already used by a built-in DLL or exe.

    julian: I haven't had any problems installing DLL:s on 3rd ed devices. I've installed them in \sys\bin, and there's no problem using them.

  6. #6
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    151

    Re: "component is built-in" error while installing sis file

    But I can use other dlls.
    Acctually, I copied more than four dll files to the phone in the pkg file like
    "\epoc32\RELEASE\armv5\UREL\my.dll"-"!:\sys\bin\my.dll"
    other dll files can be installed on the phone except one dll.
    This dll file already has been installed on the phone by another application.
    That is to say, I have two different applications that use a same dll file.

    So when I remove this dll file from the pkg file, I can install the sis file successfully and the application runs well. I am just afraid that another application that has installed this dll may be remove some day and my application can not be used.

  7. #7
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    151

    Re: "component is built-in" error while installing sis file

    How to judge that a dll has been install during pkg install process?

  8. #8
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    272

    Re: "component is built-in" error while installing sis file

    Right, of course the installer won't let you overwrite a file that belongs to another app.

  9. #9
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    151

    Re: "component is built-in" error while installing sis file

    I use the exists like this.
    IF NOT (exists("!:\sys\bin\dllname.dll"))
    "dllname.dll"-"!:\sys\bin\dllname.dll"
    ENDIF
    But it does not work. if I change the '!' to 'c', it works.
    So how can i judge which drive it install in order to judge if the dll is exist.
    Or should I write two times for c and e for exists.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-07-14, 01:16
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-05-26, 14:22
  3. Automatic install through SIS file downloaded over WAP
    By bigrio in forum Mobile Web Site Development
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2004-10-27, 11:23
  4. Easy way to send sis file to remote phone
    By jkekoni in forum Symbian Networking & Messaging (Closed)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2004-05-31, 06:39
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2002-06-10, 12:24

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •