Discussion Board

Exclamation How to edit resource file (.rss) in CW 3.1

I am new in CW ide. Having really tough time with it just to figure out some simple stuff. In this point, I could not really find how to edit a .rss file in cw ide? In the help file of cw says as follows:

=================================
    Opening the Resource Editor
    To open the Resource Editor:

1. Select Edit > Symbian Resources > Edit Resources for Target <TargetName> from the CodeWarrior menu bar

2. If more than one .resource file is attached to the target, the Project Resources window (Figure 6.1) appears:

a. Select a resource file in the Resource File list

b. Click OK

The Resource Editor window (Figure 6.2) appears. Figure 6.1 Project Resources window

Use the Resources page to manage the resource files associated with a project. Use it to add or remove resource files from the project, or change the properties of the selected resource file. The Resources page provides GUI level validation to ensure that any updates to the .resources file are valid.
    ==================================

Well, what should I do if I want to edit or update the contents of .rss file? Is it like, just go to the correct location, open it in any text editor and edit it? However I can drag and drop .rss file in IDE and edit it. But it disappear from the ide while I re-import the project .mmp file.

Is there any way to accomplish this trivial task with cw ide???

Angry Re: How to edit resource file (.rss) in CW 3.1

It should not be a difficult answer to my question for the cw user or professional either by saying "yes it is possible to edit the .rss file in cw" or "no it is not possible". By reading some of the thread, it seems nokia has employed some people to answer our basic questions at least (I can't expect an answer of any advanced questions). So it seems most of the time those people stay in coffee break .

Nokia Developer Expert

Re: How to edit resource file (.rss) in CW 3.1