Discussion Board

SIP ECOM plug in

hi

i'm new to symbian and i'm trying to develop a simple application that registers in a server. For this i'm using a simple app (helloworld) that registers when it starts. I'm using the code from the sip programmers guide to implement the registration part, but i can't understand how the ecom plug in actually works. can someone help me understand what i need to do to make this simple app work?

tks

Sergio

Re: SIP ECOM plug in

Each s60 sip application has to declare which media types are supported by that application. This declaration is in the ecom plugin.

Thanks for the help.
    I think I got it how it works and it's role, but how do we "connect" it with the main app? Is it just a different build that only relates with the main app through the app Uid and being packaged together in the sis file, or is it necessary to include some kind of library or the dll in the main app?

Sorry for my "noobness", but any help would be appreciated

Regular Contributor

Hi

On S60 3rd Edition the Ecom plugin's methods that need to be implemented have undergone some change but the idea is similar to what it was on S60 2nd EditionFP2 and FP3.

Here's an excerpt from the SIP example that shows how the connection to the application is made:

// -----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    // CSIPExResolverPlugin::ChannelL
    // -----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    //
    TUid CSIPExResolverPlugin::ChannelL( RStringF /*aMethod*/,
    const TDesC8& /*aRequestUri*/,
    const RPointerArray<CSIPHeaderBase>& /*aHeaders*/,
    const TDesC8& /*aContent*/,
    const CSIPContentTypeHeader* /*aContentType*/)
    {
    return iApplicationUID;
    }

// CSIPExResolverPlugin::ConnectL
    //
    void CSIPExResolverPlugin::ConnectL( TUid aUid )
    {
    // Launch app based on uid passed from SIP stack
    //
    TApaAppInfo appInfo;