Discussion Board

Debugging problem with CW 3.1

Hi,

I am new in CW IDE. I am having problem to debug an application based on S60 3.0 SDK. I have the following problems:

1. Debugger only shows descriptor contents which are local to current methods. It does not show the contents of descriptor which are declared as member or comes as parameter to a function call. Is there any way to see the contents of that kind of descriptor?

2. How to go back to source code from disassemble code at debugging session? Once my app panics or crashes and I start my app again without restarting the emulator, I never goes to my source code and it only show disassemble code. We could go to source code from disassemble code by right click and choosing go back to source. How to do it in CW?

3. I am debugging an app and exit the application normally. Again when I start the app, it does not stop in my break points and it seems it is not anymore in debugging mode. So every time I have to close the emulator and start the whole debugging process all over again, which is very annoying. How to do 2 or more debugging session in a row without closing emulator?

4. I would like to build from command prompt and some time I got following error message :

mwldsym2.exe: The process cannot access the file because it is being used by another process.
    Errors caused tool to abort.

This error message comes while my project is open in CW IDE. No emulator or any other thing is open. If I close my project from CW IDE, everything goes file in command prompt. Why is it happening?

I am really having so many problems with CW. It seems it is not easy at all while migrating from Visual studio to CW. Note that I have read those 3 doc files provided by forum nokia regarding CW IDE for symbian development, still did not help that much. Hope somebody could help me here.
    Last edited by madsum; 2006-03-07 at 14:28.
    Do it now! Today will be yesterday tomorrow - MadSum

Re: Debugging problem with CW 3.1

Hi,