×

Discussion Board

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 21 of 21
  1. #16
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    399

    Re: S60-SDK3 not present in list of SDKs

    Hi Zdenko - I'm glad you got it running. If we don't find the devices.xml from the common files location we check the path in:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\\SOFTWARE\\Symbian\\EPOC SDKs\\

    From here we read 'CommonPath' and a REG_SZ value

    I'm curious if you had anything set there becuase we don't want to force everyone to put their devices.xml file there.

    Cheers,
    Tim

  2. #17
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    3

    Re: S60-SDK3 not present in list of SDKs

    Folks,

    I am having similar problems. I tried all the suggestions given. Here are the details:

    1. devices.xml is present in "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symbian".
    2. The contents of devices.xml is:

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <devices version="1.0">
    <device id="S60_3rd" name="com.nokia.s60" default="yes" userdeletable="no">
    <epocroot>D:\Symbian\9.1\S60_3rd\</epocroot>
    </device>
    <device id="TK8.1b" name="com.symbian.TrainingKit">
    <epocroot>D:\Symbian\TK8.1b\bin\TechView\</epocroot>
    </device>
    </devices>

    // XML is not showing up in the post :(

    3. However strangely, Carbide.c++ is error logging this (under Window -> Show View -> Other -> PDE Runtime -> Error Log):

    java.io.FileNotFoundException: C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symbian\devices.xml (The system cannot find the file specified)

    Not sure why Carbide.c++ is not finding the file!

    Please help!

    Thanks.
    Last edited by sanspatil; 2006-03-21 at 13:12.

  3. #18
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,048

    Re: S60-SDK3 not present in list of SDKs

    Hi,

    In what way similar? What exactly is the problem you are seeing?

    The Symbian SDK (D:\Symbian\TK8.1b\bin\TechView\
    ) will not work with Carbide.c++ Express in any case so you could try to remove it from devices.xml (not that it should have any effect).

    Also note that errors posted into the Error log can mostly be ignored unless you are seeing some other issue.. Build etc related issue will show up in the "Problems" view or show in the "Console" view.

  4. #19
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    3

    Re: S60-SDK3 not present in list of SDKs

    Sorry for not mentioning the problem. I am having the same problem as posted in the title. Carbide.c++ is not finding any SDKs (I think its coz its complaining its not able to find devices.xml though the file is where its supposed to be!!).

    When I goto Window -> Preferences -> Carbide.c++ -> SDK Preferences I get a popup saying "No SDKs were found. Make sure you have a valid devices.xml file or defined SDK."

    I understand the Symbian SDK (TK8.1) will not work with Carbide.c++. However I am expecting the S60 (V9.1) SDK from nokia should work!

    Here is the devices.xml file:

    HTML Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <devices version="1.0">
      <device id="S60_3rd" name="com.nokia.s60" default="yes" userdeletable="no">
        <epocroot>D:\Symbian\9.1\S60_3rd\</epocroot>
      </device>
      <device id="TK8.1b" name="com.symbian.TrainingKit">
        <epocroot>D:\Symbian\TK8.1b\bin\TechView\</epocroot>
      </device>
    </devices>
    Please let me know if I am doing something wrong...
    Last edited by sanspatil; 2006-03-21 at 13:13.

  5. #20
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    3

    Re: S60-SDK3 not present in list of SDKs

    OK I have gotten over the problem. I uninstalled S60 SDK and reinstalled it again. So the order of installs was wrong earlier (I had installed S60 SDK first and then Symbian TK8.1). The devices.xml that S60 SDK install creates is little different from the one TK8.1 creates and I think this causes a problem with Carbide.c++. However the error message of Carbide.c++ is misleading!

    Here is the devices.xml that works:

    HTML Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <devices version="1.0">
    <device id="TK8.1b" name="com.symbian.TrainingKit" default="no" userdeletable="">
    <epocroot>D:\Symbian\TK8.1b\bin\TechView\</epocroot>
    </device>
    <device id="S60_3rd" name="com.nokia.s60" default="yes" userdeletable="no">
    <epocroot>D:\Symbian\9.1\S60_3rd\</epocroot>
    </device>
    </devices>

  6. #21
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    399

    Re: S60-SDK3 not present in list of SDKs

    Your problem in the devices.xml (actually Carbide's problem) what that it was expecting there to be a 'default' attribute for each SDK. If you don't add a default attribute the parser would fail and not move on to the next SDK. This has been fixed, but for now the workaround is to add this attrib back in if it doesn't exist (I don't think DevKit installers add this).

    Cheers,
    Tim

Similar Threads

  1. FullCanvas to List bug S60
    By sohrabza in forum Mobile Java Media (Graphics & Sounds)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-02-27, 16:05
  2. 6680 and bluetooth service profiles
    By ceruault in forum Mobile Java Networking & Messaging & Security
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-10-08, 22:24
  3. List class on S60 phones
    By sandie_quinn in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2003-08-29, 08:10
  4. Exclusive List behavior, S60
    By fmhunter in forum Mobile Java Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2002-11-08, 13:06
  5. S60 SDK bugs with List
    By xdimas in forum Mobile Java Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1970-01-01, 02:00

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×