Discussion Board

Help needed on larger .jar files

Hello.

I am a student just getting to grips with java and mobile technology which a friend of mine recently turned me on to.

I am interested in porting and optimising games and apps.

I use a Nokia 6230i and the Series 40 SDK.

I would like information on the process by which .jar files are installed.

I install games and apps to my phone via WAP, storing the .jad and .jar files on my webspace and downloading them, whereby they are installed automatically.

The largest I have managed to install in this manner was a 204kb .jar.

The supposed maximum for the 6230i is 512kb.

A .jar I am attempting to download and run at 243kb fails each time.

I would also like to install a .jar at 573kb which I have read works with my 6230i handset.

Does anyone have any idea how to install larger .jar files, maybe by splitting them into chunks?

Any help much appreciated.

Super Contributor

Re: Help needed on larger .jar files

Hi Mr. 6230i! Welcome to Nokia Discussion Boards!!

Quote Originally Posted by Mr. 6230i
    A .jar I am attempting to download and run at 243kb fails each time.
    Please ensure that you have enough memory left in your mobile device, and please check that whether there is any download limit set by your operator.

Regards
    Gopal

Thanks, Gopal.

I have about 30MB internal memory remaining and, to my knowledge, am under no restrictions as to download size.

I'm using O2 as a service provider.

The actual error message I get is "Unable to complete operation". It comes at such a time as to make me believe that the file has been downloaded but is not installing correctly.

Super Contributor

I have been going through some previous posts and have noticed that there previously also there has been similar problems. Have you tried installing via Nokia PCSuite? Does the bigger Jar files work fine?

May be these links are of some interest
    http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...6230i+jar+size