×

Discussion Board

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    19

    one SIS, two EXEs (3rd ed.)

    hello guys.
    please anybody help me... i'm facing the following problem:
    i want to pack a SIS file with two EXEs: one console application (traditional EXE, with no GUI), which acts as a server, and one GUI application (new 3rd ed. EXE file)
    i've set things up this way:

    ** EXE 1 (console app, server, traditional EXE) **
    TARGET server.exe
    TARGETTYPE exe
    UID 0
    SECUREID 0X10201234
    <no VENDORID>

    ** EXE 2 (GUI part, ex-APP application, with resources and all) **
    TARGET mygui.exe
    TARGETTYPE exe
    UID 0X10201234
    SECUREID 0X10201234
    <no VENDORID>

    now, the problem is that the SIS file built with these two EXEs doesn't get installed: the installer fails with the error message "UNABLE TO INSTALL".

    note that if i put each EXE application (and all its data) in its own SIS file everything works fine

    do you have any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tampere, Finland
    Posts
    11,359

    Re: one SIS, two EXEs (3rd ed.)

    Quote Originally Posted by SDK Help -> Introduction to S60 3rd Edition -> Platform Security - a Technical Overview
    ...
    3.3.1 SID (Secure Identifier)
    From Symbian OS version 9.x, all executables must contain a Secure Identifier, which is guaranteed to be locally unique. ...
    Also, on S60 3rd the UID3 of an exe (server, console or "app") is expected to be different than 0 precisely because most of the time the SID is in fact UID3.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    19

    Re: one SIS, two EXEs (3rd ed.)

    thank you for your answer, but i also tried the following configuration:

    ** EXE 1 (console app, server, traditional EXE) **
    TARGET server.exe
    TARGETTYPE exe
    UID 0x0 0X10201233
    VENDORID 0

    ** EXE 2 (GUI part, ex-APP application, with resources and all) **
    TARGET mygui.exe
    TARGETTYPE exe
    UID 0x0 0X10201234
    VENDORID 0

    and it doesn't work either

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tampere, Finland
    Posts
    11,359

    Re: one SIS, two EXEs (3rd ed.)

    The error you are getting can be caused by many other problems. Double check your pkg file or post it here for a "fresh eye" inspection...

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    19

    Re: one SIS, two EXEs (3rd ed.)

    Here it is:

    ; Languages
    &EN

    ; Header
    #{"MyApp"}, (0x80206565), 0, 1, 1, TYPE=SISAPP

    ; Platform compatibility
    [0x101F7961], *, *, *, {"Series60ProductID"}

    ;Localised Vendor name
    %{"MyCompany"}

    ;Unique Vendor name
    :"MyCompany"

    ; GUI
    "C:\Symbian\9.1\S60_3rd\Epoc32\release\gcce\UREL\mygui.exe"-"!:\sys\bin\mygui.exe"
    "C:\Symbian\9.1\S60_3rd\Epoc32\data\z\resource\apps\mygui.rSC"-"!:\resource\apps\mygui.rSC"
    "C:\Symbian\9.1\S60_3rd\Epoc32\data\mygui_reg.mbm"-"!:\resource\apps\mygui_reg.mbm"
    "C:\Symbian\9.1\S60_3rd\Epoc32\data\mygui.mbm"-"!:\resource\apps\mygui.mbm"
    "C:\Symbian\9.1\S60_3rd\Epoc32\data\z\resource\apps\mygui_reg.mif"-"!:\resource\apps\mygui_reg.mif"
    "C:\Symbian\9.1\S60_3rd\Epoc32\data\z\private\10003a3f\apps\mygui_reg.rSC"-"!:\private\10003a3f\import\apps\mygui_reg.rSC"
    "C:\Symbian\Develop\...\private\intro.wav"-"!:\private\80206565\intro.wav"
    "C:\Symbian\Develop\...\private\mygui.bin"-"!:\private\80206565\mygui.bin"

    ; SERVER
    "C:\Symbian\9.1\S60_3rd\Epoc32\release\GCCE\UREL\server.exe"-"!:\sys\bin\server.exe"
    "C:\Symbian\Develop\...\startup\[80206565].rsc"-"C:\private\101f875a\import\[80206565].rsc"

    strangest thing is that each of the two parts put in a SIS file on its own, gets installed successfully. the problem happens if i put in the same SIS file both parts (i.e. if i use the whole pkg shown above)

  6. #6
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    2,015

    Re: one SIS, two EXEs (3rd ed.)

    If SECUREID isn't specified then the SID is taken from the UID so you can't have the UIDs of the two executables the same either is SECUREID isn't present in the mmp.
    Last edited by hotcheese; 2006-03-21 at 18:08.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    19

    Re: one SIS, two EXEs (3rd ed.)

    yes, you are right...
    actually i also tried the two following configurations, but without success!

    this one, where i chose the same SECUREID for both EXEs, but i gave them two different UIDs
    ** EXE 1 (console app, server, traditional EXE) **
    TARGET server.exe
    TARGETTYPE exe
    UID 0x0 0X10201233
    SECUREID 0X1020ffff
    VENDORID 0

    ** EXE 2 (GUI part, ex-APP application, with resources and all) **
    TARGET mygui.exe
    TARGETTYPE exe
    UID 0x0 0X10201234
    SECUREID 0X1020ffff
    VENDORID 0

    and this one, with the same SECUREID for both EXEs, but the server.exe has 0 as UID:
    ** EXE 1 (console app, server, traditional EXE) **
    TARGET server.exe
    TARGETTYPE exe
    UID 0
    SECUREID 0X1020ffff
    VENDORID 0

    ** EXE 2 (GUI part, ex-APP application, with resources and all) **
    TARGET mygui.exe
    TARGETTYPE exe
    UID 0x0 0X10201234
    SECUREID 0X1020ffff
    VENDORID 0

    of course when i change the UIDs in the mmp file, then i clean and reallyclean everything and build all again from scratch.

    believe me, i'm really getting mad from all these different tests
    please simbies, help me!!!!

  8. #8
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    2,015

    Re: one SIS, two EXEs (3rd ed.)

    You can't have two exes with the same SID so your last example post must fail because the SIDs are the same. If the SIDs aren't in the MMP then it is taken from the UID so the UIDs can't be the same if there is no SID specified.


    What is the error message when you try to install this configuration:

    TARGET server.exe
    TARGETTYPE exe
    UID 0x0 0X10201233
    VENDORID 0

    ** EXE 2 (GUI part, ex-APP application, with resources and all) **
    TARGET mygui.exe
    TARGETTYPE exe
    UID 0x0 0X10201234
    VENDORID 0

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    19

    Re: one SIS, two EXEs (3rd ed.)

    well, hotcheese, thank you so much, it works!

    but.... this way i can't share data between the two EXEs! the two applications are meant to work together, so I hoped that by giving the two of them the same SECUREID they might access the same directory \private\10201234\.
    is there a way to obtain this other than using the \private\10201234\import\ subdirectory???

    thank you again for everything

  10. #10
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    2,015

    Re: one SIS, two EXEs (3rd ed.)

    What sort of data are you talking about? A file? Both reading, or both writing, or one reading and the other writing? And you want the file to be shared but private from everybody else?
    If you still have a problem might be worthwhile startign a new thread for the data sharing topic.

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    19

    Re: one SIS, two EXEs (3rd ed.)

    Hi hotcheese, yes you are right!
    I started this new thread:

    http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...348#post197348

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    19

    Re: one SIS, two EXEs (3rd ed.)

    OPS!
    The new thread was posted in a Java forum... This is the right address:

    http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...d.php?p=197648

    Meet you there!
    Bye

  13. #13
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    80

    Re: one SIS, two EXEs (3rd ed.)

    Quote Originally Posted by darioses View Post
    well, hotcheese, thank you so much, it works!

    but.... this way i can't share data between the two EXEs! the two applications are meant to work together, so I hoped that by giving the two of them the same SECUREID they might access the same directory \private\10201234\.
    is there a way to obtain this other than using the \private\10201234\import\ subdirectory???

    thank you again for everything

    Hi,

    I tried hotcheese's solution but still "Unable to install"
    I want to integrate 2 GUI app in one sis without embed one sis into another.
    Anyone?

    Thanks.

  14. #14
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    28,696

    Re: one SIS, two EXEs (3rd ed.)

    What have you tried exactly?
    The installer does not cares about how many applications do you install using one .pkg file. Of course UID-s and files must not collide, but that would also cause failure in case of completely separate installation files.

  15. #15
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    985

    Re: one SIS, two EXEs (3rd ed.)

    Hi Halim,

    Nice to hear someone from Java. I used to live in Java and I do speak Java(nese).

    Anyway, could copy-and-paste your .pkg file? As wizard_hu mentioned, you should be able to package many .exe into a single .sis file. Also, if you install something to private folders; make sure that the SID of your .exe's match to the private folders.
    Antony Pranata
    http://www.antonypranata.com/
    http://www.s60tips.com/

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-07-14, 01:16
  2. Multiple programs within single SIS file dilema
    By LongSteve in forum Symbian
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2008-03-20, 06:05
  3. sis installation error in 3rd edition
    By ajaxajax4 in forum Symbian
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2006-07-06, 12:28
  4. How to sign sis in s60 3rd?
    By redglove in forum Symbian
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-01-24, 12:34

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×