Discussion Board

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

J2ME > javacard communication (JSR 177)

Hello,

Sorry for my english,
    I'm a french student and I'm developping a middlet which has to communicate with a smartcard applet. I have developped the middlet using the Nokia Prototype SDK 4.0 for java ME. In the emulator, everything seems to be fine (except an exception because no smartcard is available) but when I put the middlet in my mobile (Nokia E61) I get an exception :
    exception JAVA : "javax.microedition.io.ConnectionNotFoundException: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: com/symbian/midp/io/protocol/apdu/Protocol"

Can Anybody confirm to me that the mobile (E61) is compatible with all the package of the JSR177?
    Is it possible to establish a connexion between the nokia simulator and a PCSC smartcard reader? How?

Jeremy

Re: J2ME > javacard communication (JSR 177)

I'm afraid of that not being possible yet. Check the Series 60 3rd Edition doc below, it states features related to SATSA-CRYPTO only.

Series 60 Platform 3rd Edition: What's New for Developers
    http://www.forum.nokia.com/info/sw.n....1_en.pdf.html

"3.2 Security And Trust Services API (JSR-177)
    The Security and Trust Services API extends the security features of Java™ 2 Platform, Micro Edition (J2ME™) through the addition of cryptographic APIs, digital signature service, and user credential management."

Also, Nokia's SATSA guide is CRYPTO related:

MIDP: SATSA Crypto API Developer's Guide (With Example) v1.1
    http://www.forum.nokia.com/info/sw.n..._v1_1.zip.html

BR

Thank you for your answer but another document says that S60 3rd edition supports the JSR 177 and that SATSA-APDU Optional package is implemented:

http://www.forum.nokia.com/info/sw.n..._2_en.pdf.html

Jeremy

Hi jeremy.carre,

You're right, I overlooked this doc and information:

5.3 Security and Trust Services, JSR-177 (3rd Edition)