Discussion Board

Regular Contributor

Bluetooth connection from 6682

Hello there,
    This must be a simple question..

I have a server application running on the PC waits on a RFCOMM socket.
    I can connect/communicate to that server with another PC with a BT
    RFCOMM client application.

I also have a midlet, running on a nokia 6682. This midlet attempts to
    make a Bluetooth RFCOMM connection to the server application, but it
    never works . This is a test application., so I hardcoded the connection
    URL as follows.

SocketConnection sc = (SocketConnection) Connector.open("btspp://000D18012325:1");

I know tha the server app waits on port 1 and the address is also correct.
    But this call never returns !!, no exception, no errors.. !!

Bluetooth is enabled on the handset.
    I found a simimar question in the forum (http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...ad.php?t=75576)
    but that did not really help.

I'm very new to BT and handset programming.
    Please help

Regular Contributor

Re: Bluetooth connection from 6682

Well.. I'm sorry it does throw a permission exception.
    I wasn't noticing it because it was in an infinite loop !!

This is what is being thrown
    javax.microedition.io.Connector.bluetooth.client

So the question is how to set the "bluetooth client" permission ?

thanks

Super Contributor

Regular Contributor

Wang,
    Thanks for the post. Now I managed to create a jar file with permission for BT client and server classes. Now the next problem is I cannot install that application.
    Application manager on 6682 says "Authorization Failed". I went thru the user manual and it looks like we have to update the application settings (User manual page 95) to allow it to access network.
    It says there is a menu "Suite settings" and I should change settings from there. Unfortunately my handset does not have such a menu item. It has only "Settings".