×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    6

    Question Midlet suddently stopped working

    Hi fellow developers

    I'm working on a Midlet app, developing it with WTK2.3 ... the app runs fine on the emulator and for a long time it worked fine on my Nokia 6600 as well ... I install it OTA from my webserver ...

    But suddently it stopped working on the 6600, but its still working on the emulator ... I even tested it on another phone (Motorola SLVR) and it works like a charm here ...

    The installation runs fine, so i do not think its a jad/manifest problem ... and the midlet also shows up on the phone ... but when i try to run it, nothing happens at all ... it doesnt look like the VM is starting or anything ... I have included another midlet in the suite, and this one runs fine ...

    Is there anything i should be aware of ? Have anybody experienced similar behaviour on the 6600 ?

    I even have reset the phone to factory default, to make sure i'm testing on a "fresh" phone ... my firmware is the first (!) released, something like 3.47 ...

    Any hints are appreciated ...

    Thanks in advance,
    Kent Fonager, Copenhagen

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bangalore , India
    Posts
    4,429

    Re: Midlet suddently stopped working

    Hi kfonager! Welcome to Nokia Discussion Boards!!

    I have seen in the "Known_Issues_In_The_Nokia_6600_v1_7_en.PDF" that

    "2.26 MIDlet Installation Problem
    Description
    In very rare cases, installing a MIDlet to the Nokia 6600 smartrphone via OTA or Web Push may for some reason fail in the middle of the installation process.
    If installing a MIDlet to the Nokia 6600 device via OTA or Web Push for some reason fails in the middle of the installation process, the half-installed MIDlet cannot be removed and the same MIDlet cannot be installed to the device. However, this happens very rarely.
    This concerns software version 4.09.1.
    Solution
    No solution exists for Nokia 6600. Fixed in the Series 60 Platform 2nd Edition, Feature Pack 1 (that is, the Nokia 6620 and Nokia 7610 devices)."

    Not sure whether this might be the case for your problem. Have you tried in a different 6600 with a different Firm ware?

    Regards
    Gopal

  3. #3
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    689

    Re: Midlet suddently stopped working

    Hi,
    This will be a software problem.I have worked on 6600 but havent noticed such a problem.

    Thanks
    Soku

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    6

    Re: Midlet suddently stopped working

    Gopal, thanks for your reply, but i dont think its the the problem i my case ... but thanks for your reply :-)

    Soku, I'm pretty sure its a software problem, but I'm a bit concerned about how to move on to solve the problem and find the bug. It IS running on another phone ... is it possible wth some on the Nokia dev tools to do remote debugging ON the device ?

    I have made is so that my midlet debugs into rms, and i then have another midlet thats reads from the same rms, but its still empty ... so nothing helps me there ...

    Maybe i should take the app "apart" and insert small blocks at a time, to find out which part makes it non-working ?

    Cheers,
    Kent

  5. #5
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bangalore , India
    Posts
    4,429

    Re: Midlet suddently stopped working

    May be you should give a try with updating the phone software of the phone.

    Regards
    Gopal

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    6

    Re: Midlet suddently stopped working

    I will do that tomorrow ... today everything is closed in Denmark because of some sort of holiday thing ;-)

    But another thing ... what kind of programming "errors" can make execution of a midlet totally stop ... what happens if i write "int x = 2/0" in the startApp() ? It will throw an uncaught Exception and problably it will stop execution, right ?

    Take care,
    Kent

  7. #7
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bangalore , India
    Posts
    4,429

    Re: Midlet suddently stopped working

    >>what happens if i write "int x = 2/0" in the startApp() ?

    ArithmeticException : Thrown when an exceptional arithmetic condition has occurred. For example, an integer "divide by zero" throws an instance of this class.

    Regards
    Gopal

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    6

    Re: Midlet suddently stopped working

    Yes, I know ... but program execution will stop, if its uncaught, right ?

  9. #9
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bangalore , India
    Posts
    4,429

    Re: Midlet suddently stopped working

    Yes. If the exception is uncaught, the app will exit!

    Regards
    Gopal

  10. #10
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA, CA
    Posts
    7,191

    Re: Midlet suddently stopped working

    I am shooting into dark here, but 6600 is CLDC 1.0 device. Are you building the app for that configuration? Also you should not use floating point arithmetic.

    Hartti

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    6

    Re: Midlet suddently stopped working

    I know, and its developed for CLDC 1.0 ... My problem is that it HAS been working, but suddently stopped working ... I've tried to find the problem all day, but no luck :-(

    But thanks for your replies ...

    /Kent

  12. #12
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    151

    Re: Midlet suddently stopped working

    Have you tried installing it via PC Suite or transferring Jar into the mobile phones.
    May be that can help you
    Cheers,
    Manan

  13. #13
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    689

    Re: Midlet suddently stopped working

    Hi,

    can you recheck your configuration in the project>settings>api selection tab.Make sure its cldc1.0 for 6600.
    if it doesnt work,can u copy ur entries for jad and manifest?

    Regards
    Soku

Similar Threads

  1. 7650 Bluetooth stopped working
    By whizkris in forum Bluetooth Technology
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2004-06-17, 11:57
  2. 'Response Unknown' when downloading midlet
    By Weevil in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2004-05-30, 17:01
  3. Exit not working in a midlet
    By ferozekadamapuzha in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2003-06-06, 05:55
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2002-08-09, 23:03
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2002-08-08, 22:54

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×