×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    14

    Get mobile phone number using j2me

    Hi, how do i get the phone number or the ITU country code of the device using j2me ?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bangalore , India
    Posts
    4,429

    Re: Get mobile phone number using j2me

    Please check this link, we already had a similar discussion
    http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...t=phone+number

    Regards
    Gopal

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    14

    Re: Get mobile phone number using j2me

    That is what i thought, however i only want the country code.

    I realize that there is the "wireless.messaging.sms.smsc" property, i believe this property has to present on all phones, right? does this value change if the user is on roaming ?

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    4

    Re: Get mobile phone number using j2me

    There is a sily way that You may already thought of:
    send an SMS to an another phone.
    You have to install a simple midlet on that phone that listens for incoming SMS's, and sends back an SMS to the sender, that contains the sender address.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    14

    Re: Get mobile phone number using j2me

    Thanks, i think something like that but i was looking for an inexpensive way.

    I will use the "wireless.messaging.sms.smsc" property because i think it can satisfy my needs (i already have the code working) that are getting the country code of the mobile (MCC), i just don't know if this property keeps the same when the user goes to a foreign country (roaming).

    Thanks.

  6. #6
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    67

    Re: Get mobile phone number using j2me

    As far as I know the SMSC number doesn't change while roaming.

    This might (or might not) be what you need.

    By analysing the SMSC number you can also get the information which network operator is used.

    Have a look at:

    http://www.mobile-j.de/snipsnap/spac...twork+operator

Similar Threads

  1. WML & WMLSCript problem ????
    By gemini_shooter in forum Browsing and Mark-ups
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-01-14, 06:01
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2004-12-10, 09:32
  3. How to initiate a GPRS connection to the mobile phone from a remote server?
    By VigenIssahhanjan in forum Symbian Networking & Messaging (Closed)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2004-11-22, 08:50
  4. J2ME using a mobile phone
    By weiqiang118 in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2003-02-13, 05:52

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×