Discussion Board

Is signing Compulsory for midlets?

hai

I am new to j2me i develop a network application its works fine in emulator nokia 6230i ,but when i install the same application in nokia 6230i , the application starts fine , and canvas screens are appear i am not getting any error ,but the data from the server is not came. i am not sign the midlet , any one plese tell me what i have to do (settings) before install

thanks & regards
    Ravi varma

Super Contributor

Re: Is signing Compulsory for midlets?

MIDlet signing is not compulsory/mandatory. As to why your program fails, I don't know.

Super Contributor

Do you have the network code in the same thread with UI code? My guess is that your midlet is not able to connect to the server properly and therefore there is no canvas to be shown (the midlet never reaches that part of the code).

Separate the network connections to a separate thread from UI. Also make sure that the access point is set correctly for you phone and midlets (there are a number of discussion threads on this topic on these boards)

Hartti

Super Contributor

Ravi,
    In case you have missed, please check whether you can acces Wap/GPRS through the default phone browser. Also check that you have given proper permissions in the JAD and MF. Does the permission question poppes up in the real device when trying to connect to server ? Make sure that you allow the permission dialogs.

Regards
    Gopal

Having a working browser (WAP) does not say anything about MIDlet connectivity on a Nokia 6230i. Double check issues related to this, too.

Super Contributor

>>Having a working browser (WAP) does not say anything about MIDlet connectivity on a Nokia 6230i.

Yep! That I know. :-P But I just want to know whether his WAP/GPRS service is enabled by the network operator. In case the service was not activated!

Regards
    Gopal

Hi experts,

My question is not related to the previous questions, but related to the title...