×

Discussion Board

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    9

    Selecting APN name.

    Hi,
    i am developing one J2ME application, in that we have to access network.
    When i selected correct APN name it is working fine,but when i select wrong APN name, it is not giving second time chance to select another APN name.
    please tell me is there way to get the APN names list once again.

    thanks & regrads,
    sateesh

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Europe/Poland/Warsaw
    Posts
    1,699

    Re: Selecting APN name.

    Hi sateesh,

    do you mean that you are selecting access point from midlet?
    its not possible to my knowladge,

    regards,
    Peter

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    9

    Re: Selecting APN name.

    Hi peter,
    Thanks for teh response.
    We are not selecting APN name from midlet,
    when we try to access network form midlet, then it is asking APN names,
    When i selected correct APN name it is working fine,but when i select wrong APN name, it is not giving second time chance to select another APN name.
    I mean list of APN names are not displaying, it is taking previous selected APn name.

    thanks & regards,
    sateesh

  4. #4
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Europe/Poland/Warsaw
    Posts
    1,699

    Re: Selecting APN name.

    hi,

    but that is something outside of midlet programmer, as phone user you can only reset/correct your APN settings for example requesting network settings from your carrier/network provider web page,
    if properly configured you should be asked only on midlet requesting network connection (wihtout a need to set APN manually each time) which is expected behavior,

    regards,
    peter

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    9

    Re: Selecting APN name.

    hi peter,
    you are spot on,my midlet is asking "allow the application user to use network" if i click on yes then only it is asking APN names.
    I want to eliminate that step, is there any way to take the default APN name directly from my midlet, with out giving the chance to user for selecting the APN names.

    thanks & regards,
    sateesh d

  6. #6
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Europe/Poland/Warsaw
    Posts
    1,699

    Re: Selecting APN name.

    hi,

    have you tried to reset/set your connections settings which are different accross carriers?
    I've simply requested defaults settings for my phone using my provider/carrier webpage,
    regards,
    Peter

  7. #7
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Europe/Poland/Warsaw
    Posts
    1,699

    Re: Selecting APN name.

    hi sateesh,

    I think I missed one point and sorry for that,
    when phone ask for allow midlet to use network that's expected, then phone presents lists of available apn, which user need to select and approve too,
    after that (after connection is granted) it cannot be changed,
    that's not only j2me/midlet but also native symbian application behavior,
    try with build-in browser or Opera Browser for S60, after you select apn from list you cannot change that apn during application life-time, so if I pick wrong apn (for example which do not use edge data transfer) its my fault, Midlet can only show for example that data transfer rate is very low (as Opera-mini does for example), so I can restart application and choose better apn for data transfer,

    hth,
    regards,
    Peter

  8. #8
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    105

    Re: Selecting APN name.

    Correction:

    Its not native behaviour for Symbian, and also Python.
    It is possible to pre-select an access point in Symbian - and to an extent in Python (using an additional Python library).

    Try having a look in the python and symbian forums for this problem.
    For Python however, its called iapconnect/iapsocket(i forget), its a module by simo that allows specification of which APN to use (to an extent)

  9. #9
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Europe/Poland/Warsaw
    Posts
    1,699

    Re: Selecting APN name.

    thx rexwal,
    something I was not awared of,
    regards,
    Peter

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    4

    Re: Selecting APN name.

    Hello all,

    regarding APN selection with a Nokia device, I have signed a MIDlet following the steps of http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...ad.php?t=75878, and I have already installed the app. in a Nokia 6680. The problem is, when it first connects, I´m prompted to authorize web access, but no APN choice is shown, instead GPRS is used. I must to use a different one, but I´m unable to do so. I´ve browsed almost all phone options, but cannot find anyting.

    I´m a bit worried about this, I need to use a different APN but I cannot choose it, and I need to sign the midlet.

    By the way, in the future I´ll be using a Verisign certificate. Is this a problem of the self-signed cert. I´m using?.

    Thanks in advance, and sorry for the long read. Any help would be very appreciated.

    Manuel.

  11. #11
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA, CA
    Posts
    7,192

    Re: Selecting APN name.

    Manuel, Does the APN selection dialog appear with the unsigned midlet or not?

    Hartti

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    4

    Re: Selecting APN name.

    Hello,

    No, it doesn´t appear. Can it be related to phone´s configuration?

    Thanks,

    Manuel.

  13. #13
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA, CA
    Posts
    7,192

    Re: Selecting APN name.

    So you are saying that the connection is done, but without APN selection dialog? That sort of ruins my assumption that the application is blocking the dialog by using yields() (this problem was mentioned on the forums a couple of week back)...

    So I am shooting in the dark right now.

    Is the phone a generic Nokia one or customized to an operator?
    Is this behavior visible on all midlets connecting to the network? (you could try for example gmail app (if you are using gmail, the installation would be also useful to you, just not only debugging)

    Hartti

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    4

    Re: Selecting APN name.

    Hello again,

    Sorry for posting so much, I hope I´m not being annoying to you. Well, I have done several tests: with the Nokia 6680 I´ve been using, I´m not asked for APN, neither with the MIDlet I´m having problems with nor another (which simply connects to a php page and reads the response). But:

    - Using a Nokia N70 I´m always prompted to choose an APN, with both MIDlets.
    - Using ANOTHER, different 6680, I´m also prompted, like with the N70.

    By the way, N70 is Vodafone-Operated, but both 6680s are generic

    Thanks in advance.

  15. #15
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Europe/Poland/Warsaw
    Posts
    1,699

    Re: Selecting APN name.

    hi Manuel,

    could be device specific issue, i own 6680 and it always asks for apn (generic device, with sim card, most recent firmware version),
    what's number of configured APN in that device?

    regards,
    peter

Similar Threads

  1. N 6020 APN connectivity for Java that honours the HTTP Proxy Settings
    By chris_wooldridge in forum Mobile Java Networking & Messaging & Security
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-04-11, 04:46
  2. Opera launching with specific APN
    By _fran in forum Symbian Networking & Messaging (Closed)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2005-04-06, 11:34
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2004-11-16, 08:29
  4. Default WAP APN retrieval from CommDB
    By yoalat in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2004-08-11, 20:50
  5. IP Address of WAP APN
    By greenfrog in forum Symbian Networking & Messaging (Closed)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2003-10-28, 11:33

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •