×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Beijing,China
    Posts
    1,190

    Smile Test with emulator for TCPIP usages

    How to test network using emulator:
    1. Connetcting to a host(generally speaking, the default setting does not have the ability to connect to a remote host)
    2. Sending a packet to a remote host using TCP

    that means how to configure the emulator, or is there any other tools for testing network?

  2. #2
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Hyderabad,India
    Posts
    89

    Re: Test with emulator for TCPIP usages

    Hi,

    If you have tools ->preferences ->Ethernet settings in emulator menu. try hard coded ip with all params as your Lan connection->Status->support->details (like dns, default gateway...). Emulator connects to your ethernet with that hardcoded ip.

    Regards,
    Sheshu.

  3. #3
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Beijing,China
    Posts
    1,190

    Question Re: Test with emulator for TCPIP usages

    What is hard coded ip?
    I do not understand.
    that will work well, right?

    Quote Originally Posted by inguvaseshu
    Hi,

    If you have tools ->preferences ->Ethernet settings in emulator menu. try hard coded ip with all params as your Lan connection->Status->support->details (like dns, default gateway...). Emulator connects to your ethernet with that hardcoded ip.

    Regards,
    Sheshu.

  4. #4
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Hyderabad,India
    Posts
    89

    Re: Test with emulator for TCPIP usages

    If u doesn’t give any IP by selecting "obtain an IP dynamically", then emulator will try to connect to your router with known last IP. This may not be successful all times. And if successful you will be allocated some random IP every time. Instead choose an IP which will not match with your network systems, and give it there. So if you want to see what you are sending and receiving in ethereal you don’t need to search for IP. This method is tested on SDK Second edition FP2 and FP3 emulators.

    Regards,
    Sheshu Kumar Inguva.

  5. #5
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Beijing,China
    Posts
    1,190

    Question Re: Test with emulator for TCPIP usages

    below marked red, I am a little confused.
    1. what do you mean "don't need to search for IP"? But How can I know if the packet is sent or not?
    2. can you give me some link or docs on this kind of issue?


    Quote Originally Posted by inguvaseshu
    If u doesn’t give any IP by selecting "obtain an IP dynamically", then emulator will try to connect to your router with known last IP. This may not be successful all times. And if successful you will be allocated some random IP every time. Instead choose an IP which will not match with your network systems, and give it there. So if you want to see what you are sending and receiving in ethereal you don’t need to search for IP. This method is tested on SDK Second edition FP2 and FP3 emulators.

    Regards,
    Sheshu Kumar Inguva.

  6. #6
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    2,037

    Re: Test with emulator for TCPIP usages

    Hi,

    connection emulator to network is pretty easy now...

    Try to read
    http://www.forum.nokia.com/info/sw.n..._1_en.pdf.html
    http://www.symbian.com/developer/dow...g_Ethernet.pdf


    The old way(pre 7.0s and not UIQ) is here
    http://www.newlc.com/Connecting-the-...ulator-to.html
    http://www.sf.org.cn/symbian/network/symbian_18226.html


    But it's pretty easy, just go to the setting in the menu above your phone emulator and fill the IP address and select proper interface...

    Remeber that emulator must have its own IP identity,by which I mean taht it needs to have its own IP address

    Bye
    STeN

Similar Threads

  1. Can I test SMS receiver on the phone without port number?
    By brighteyes in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2007-11-26, 23:38
  2. problem with lowmem test tool
    By chitransh_chetan in forum Symbian C++
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-12-01, 07:32
  3. problem with lowmem test tool
    By chitransh_chetan in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2005-09-23, 07:09
  4. About Dialog
    By lilesh in forum Symbian User Interface
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-05-30, 05:11
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2003-02-11, 04:31

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •