×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur
    Posts
    17

    Networking idiosyncracies in S40 & S60 emulators

    I have a midlet which makes HTTPConnections. Strangely it works in the S40 3rd ed. FP1 emulator but not in the S60 3rd ed emulator. I have API permission for http access in the JAD. Are there any differences in the implementation for S40 & S60 ? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Europe/Poland/Warsaw
    Posts
    1,699

    Re: Networking idiosyncracies in S40 & S60 emulators

    hi,

    have you got any exception when running the same midlet on S60 emulator?
    (you should trap IOException and SecurityException at least for Nokia devices and network operations),

    regards,
    peter

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur
    Posts
    17

    Re: Networking idiosyncracies in S40 & S60 emulators

    Hi Peter,

    I am not getting any exceptions. In the emulator, I opened the diagnostics pane, and the traffic tabs shows that a HTTP POST request was sent out. But on my server side, I did not get any connections. And the app just hangs.

    By the way, I'm trying to find out how to debug the emulator & I posted my questions at http://snipurl.com/comlin . If you have any ideas, please let me know. Thanks for your help.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur
    Posts
    17

    Re: Networking idiosyncracies in S40 & S60 emulators

    Here's an update. Instead of using the S60 3rd ed. emulator, I have reverted to using the S60 2nd ed. emulator. And I've noticed that I got an EOFException. The code that caused the EOFException is:

    1 int httpCode = connection.getResponseCode();
    2 if( httpCode == HttpConnection.HTTP_OK)
    3 {
    4 DataInputStream dais = connection.openDataInputStream();
    5 int appStatusCode = dais.readInt();
    6 ..snip..
    7 }


    The offending line is #5. Does anyone know why ?

    Note that this code works fine in S40.

    Thanks all.

Similar Threads

  1. S60 emulators not working
    By auusital in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2009-10-21, 09:25
  2. What is going on with Vibration on S60?
    By amd_rikus in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-06-16, 00:29
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-03-23, 07:42
  4. Nokia手机主要参数列表
    By cqucyf in forum [Archived] Other Programming Discussion 关于其他编程技术的讨论
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2005-05-04, 16:34
  5. Emulators and Real preformance (s60, s40)
    By shmulikm29 in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2003-12-24, 06:46

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •