Discussion Board

newbie requires help

Hi there,

I've downloaded a tutorial from this site entitled:

MIDP20: Introduction to Secure MIDLet Communication

dated 08-Mar-04

I downloaded the necessary files compiled and ran the example whiteboard application. Everything seems to be working, however, I have a question regarding the encountering of certificates over an SSL (Secure Socket Layer) connection.

When I run the WhiteboardMIDlet it tries to connect to a secure server I am running and naturally encounters my self-signed certificate. So, the midlet application immediately throws the CertificateException because it doesn't recognize the authenticity of the certificate.

In a normal browser, like Internet Explorer on a pc, when you encounter a secure website and it shows a questionable certificate, you are given the option to accept access to the website regardless and to include the certificate as one that is trusted in a list that IE keeps.

I'm new to mobile development, and don't know a great deal about cellular phones, but I'm trying to understand if ordinarily a phone would operate the same as any browser would as described in the previous paragraph?

I ask this only because when I ran the whiteboard application, it showed me the details of the certificate, which was fine, but it didn't give me any options to proceed regardless, or include the certificate copy as part of any list. The pdf tutorial file included with the example doesn't touch on any of this type of problem.

How do I work around this so that I can continue to test the rest of the example?

Alan

Super Contributor

Re: newbie requires help

hi Allan,

most probably certificate used on your server side must match the root certificates installed on device you are using:
    http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...ighlight=https
    "Device/Phone">"Settings" >"Security">"Certificates management section"

regards,
    Peter

Re: newbie requires help