Discussion Board

device and emulator behaves differently

Is it normal?
    Please, don't laugh. I'm a newbie in MIDP development.

Trying to debug a program (I'm pretty sure that the bug
    resides in my code) I find that it works ok in the emulator
    but fails in the device.

My environment:
    - Eclipse
    - Carbide.j
    - SDK S60 2nd FP2
    - Nokia 6630

What I like to know is if the different behaviour (I've got
    a java exception in the device whereas it works ok in the
    emulator) is a common thing to see.

Are there any general advice for this situations?

Regards,
    -H.

Super Contributor

Re: device and emulator behaves differently

The general advice is to be more specific in your question. What are you trying to do, what is the result, what exception do you get, what does your code look like...?

Hartti

Hi -H,

"I've got a java exception in the device"
    As Hartti suggested, please let us know the exception you're getting as well as the APIs you're using (JSRs) and code, that may help a lot in analyzing the problem.

BR,

Juarez Jr
    Last edited by juarezjunior; 2006-08-09 at 16:00.

Please, appologize. I didn't meant to be that sparse.

Actually, I was looking for an advise more related to some IDE configuration rather than guidance with my (buggy) use of the API.

I'm at work right now and I don't have the details here. AFAICR, the java exception is a "Null URI" one. I don't know which method I'm screwing up with because all the connection process is inside a try block.

I'll include all the details in a future message --under the Networking forum-- if I'm stuck again. First I'll try to reformat the code to locate the specific API method that raise the exception.

FWIW: I didn't write the code. I've just picked up a public project that I would like to use in my personal mobile. I'm now trying to fix it so I can use it with my device and operator.