Discussion Board

svn solution for Carbide.c++

Hello,

From what documentation I've managed to read, it seems that the current version of Carbide.c++ does not include support for SVN. Though there are plugins for the full version of Eclipse, these do not seem to work with Carbide.c++. So, even though there is no clean way to integrate SVN with Carbide right now, I'm looking for an interim solution. What project files must be included in the repository? What can be safely excluded? What kind of hang-ups can I expect?

For example, I suspect Carbide.c++ will want the paths to remain the same on all installed systems. This can be remedied easily enough by always checking things out into c:\project, or something similar.

Any other hints or war stories would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    -Jon

Super Contributor

Re: svn solution for Carbide.c++

I have no experience and no warstories but..

- Any directories that have a build config name in them such as "S60 2.8 Emulator Debug" are autogenerated for each build and you should therefore be able to safely exclude them
    - In the project root (in the workspace) you can find some files (.cdtbuild, .cdtproject and .project) that are "sort of" important
    - Under the root dir there is a .settings directory with a file called org.eclipse.cdt.managedbuilder.core.prefs. This is one of the files causing issues as this one has fixed paths. You can just open with an editor to see what is fixed.
    - Also we have some developer reports that settings are not written into the setting files above immediately but only some time later (not sure when) so you might need to do something like "Close project" to flush the stuff out.

Most importantly, it would be good if you reported any findings here, that would be most helpful.

Integration with various source control systems will be improved in the forthcoming versions of the product.

Hello,

Thanks for your reply; I have some [fairly positive] experience to report.