×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    16

    Problem with JAR having more then one package

    hi,

    I'm wirting a J2ME Application, and want to use more than one package to structure the projekt.
    Creating the JAD and JAR file works fine. when I try to deploy the jad on my Nokia N73 I always get the error-message: Invalid JAR-File.

    Has anyone had such a problem, or does anyone know if more than one package work?

    best regards!

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bangalore , India
    Posts
    4,429

    Re: Problem with JAR having more then one package

    More than one package will surely work. Me too is working with multiple packages. I doubt the problem might be with JAD/MF. Please make sure that your JAD, MF entries are correct and they match each other.

    Regards
    Gopal

  3. #3
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Rawalpindi, Pakistan
    Posts
    486

    Re: Problem with JAR having more then one package

    invalid jar file error can come because of various reason. using more then one packagae is not an issue. which tool are u using to make a jar file.

    here r few situation which u can check which might solve ur probelem

    1. make sure ur jar file size is less then 1 MB
    2. while making jar if ur using Archive builder of Jbuilder dont forget to mention the startup midlet class.
    3. and if ur using package make sure that classes that u r using in that package r included in your jar file.

    if this doesnt solve ur problme then give us more detail information.
    ALos search this forum i am sure there must be 100s of other threads on simialr problem
    Regards
    Nouman

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    16

    Re: Problem with JAR having more then one package

    thanks for help.

    I'm using Eclipse and the Carbide.j plugin from Nokia to create jar and jad.
    the jad is the same as the manifest.
    I have already tried different things. does anyone know a good jar-creator?

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    16

    Re: Problem with JAR having more then one package

    Hi all,

    today I had the chance to deploy my application to other Nokia S60 devices. I tried the 6680 and the N70 and the Jar-File worked on both phones, but not on thee N73.
    I definitly can't have more than one package in the Jar-File when deploying on N73. (Invalid Jar-File!)

    best regards!

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    16

    Re: Problem with JAR having more then one package

    does anyone know about these problems with the n73 or has anyone deployed applications with more than one package with this phone?
    thanks for information!

  7. #7
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA, CA
    Posts
    7,191

    Re: Problem with JAR having more then one package

    cinderella7777, what do you exactly mean with packages here? do you have multiple midlets in one jar file? or are you talking about source level packages?

    Also would it be possible to see the jad file contents?

    Hartti

  8. #8
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Rawalpindi, Pakistan
    Posts
    486

    Re: Problem with JAR having more then one package

    i dont thin the issue is more then one package. there must be something else.

    yeah and what do u mean when u say packages
    Regards
    Nouman

  9. #9
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Europe/Poland/Warsaw
    Posts
    1,697

    Re: Problem with JAR having more then one package

    hi,
    maybe "more then one midlet in the suite"?
    regards,
    Peter

  10. #10
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Rawalpindi, Pakistan
    Posts
    486

    Re: Problem with JAR having more then one package

    Your mean to say . package containg more then one main midlet class.
    ???
    Regards
    Nouman

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    1,884

    Re: Problem with JAR having more then one package

    Hi,

    There is no constraint regarding packages (package keyword) in Java as people has already informed here.

    I tried the 6680 and the N70 and the Jar-File worked on both phones, but not on thee N73.
    It sounds very strange, can you provide your JAD and manifest? Also, please inform the APIs (MIDP, CLDC, Opt Packs) your application is targeting.

    BR,

    Juarez Jr
    Last edited by juarezjunior; 2006-09-27 at 00:52.
    Juarez Alvares Barbosa Junior - Brazil

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    19

    Re: Problem with JAR having more then one package

    I had the same problem with N73.
    The (very weird) solution was to change the MIDlet-Version in the jad & Manifest from 2.0 to 1.0.0

    BTW 2.0 worked on all devices I tried except for N73.

    I also tried to use 2.0.0 (which didn't work on N73) and other, but couldn't find a pattern there...

    Please let me know if it worked for you.

    Also, if anyone knows - what are the allowed MIDlet-Version for N73, and if there are more devices with the same problem.

    Shmulik
    www.gamearray.com

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    1,884

    Re: Problem with JAR having more then one package

    Hi all,

    The best forum section to report those kind of bugs/problems is here:

    Developer's Feedback Nokia
    http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...play.php?f=136

    Best,
    Juarez Alvares Barbosa Junior - Brazil

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1

    Re: Problem with JAR having more then one package

    Thank you very much for this thread which encouraged me to invest some time in the same problem I had with a JAR that did not install on my Nokia E50. The reason for the authorisation failure was that the java packages were placed in different directories on the upper level in the jar file. Moving them one level deeper into one single directory solved the problem I had.

    Please find more details here http://sourceforge.net/tracker/index...49&atid=649554

    Regards
    Wolf

Similar Threads

  1. Problem in create obfuscated package by Proguard
    By fuweijie in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 2008-03-14, 06:47
  2. Jad, Jar Problem...
    By Botix in forum Mobile Java Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-01-20, 14:22
  3. Problem with NGage QD downloading JAD and JAR files from WAP Push...
    By slimgw in forum Digital Rights Management & Content Downloading
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-01-26, 16:08
  4. Problem re-generating JAR using NDS from Eclipse
    By adaromas in forum Mobile Java Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2004-09-22, 01:26
  5. JAR file to SIS package
    By kljajo in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2004-08-10, 09:23

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×