×

Discussion Board

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    28

    S60 3rd Edition <not available>

    I just installed S60 3rd edtion SDK, (using Carbide.vs), and when I go to the SDK Configuration Manager, it shows it as "<not available>". My current SDK, S60 v2.1 for .NET, is okay. What file did not get updated properly tha's needed to unlock the new SDK?

  2. #2
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    462

    Re: S60 3rd Edition <not available>

    I used S60 3rd edition MR release, it works ok.

    Which sdk are you using?

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    28

    Re: S60 3rd Edition <not available>

    Quote Originally Posted by Skygyl
    I used S60 3rd edition MR release, it works ok.

    Which sdk are you using?
    I am not sure what you are asking. I am using the S60 3rd Edition SDK. Or am trying to, but Carbide.vs is not recognizing it.

  4. #4
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    462

    Re: S60 3rd Edition <not available>

    Try to download the latest SDK

  5. #5
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,048

    Re: S60 3rd Edition <not available>

    In the column called "Device ID", what is the listed ID for the SDK that is not available? For the same line, does the column "SDK Root" possibly start with a exclamation mark (!) and what is the root? Is the root where you think you installed your SDK?

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    14

    Unhappy Re: S60 3rd Edition <not available>

    I have the same problem with 2nd ed FP2, it is not available, while 3rd ed MR works fine.
    "SDK root" is correct.
    Any suggestion?

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    28

    Re: S60 3rd Edition <not available>

    The Device ID is "S60_3rd". The root looks valid, I wonder if there is a blank or other non-displayable character in their? Also I just noticed that there is a tooltip that pops up saying "The SDK cannot be enabled as the corresponding descriptor was not found".

    Okaaayyyy...so just what is the "Corresponding descriptor"?

  8. #8
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,048

    Re: S60 3rd Edition <not available>

    Would it be possible that you are still using Carbide.vs 2.0? The 3.0 SDK descriptor came with the latest version which is 2.0.1. If you are still at 2.0, pls update to 2.0.1.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    28

    Re: S60 3rd Edition <not available>

    Bingo! That was the problem. I just upgraded, and now everything is at peace with the world.

    Thank you!

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    14

    Re: S60 3rd Edition <not available>

    Well, I discovered the problem, I had installed a beta version of S60_2nd_FP2.
    Thanks all.

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    18

    Re: S60 3rd Edition <not available>

    Hi,

    I had S60 2nd edition installed. Now, I have installed S60 3rd edition. First, I removed S60 2nd edition from add remove programs in control panel and then I installed the S60 3rd edition. I am using VC++.NET as IDE. Now when I try to build any application the error occurs that SDK 3rd edition cannot be found.

    What will be the settings that I have to do in VC++.NET or how can I enable the SDK 3rd edition.

    I have also installed Nokia developer suite for S60 SDK to support VC++.NET but building an application fails because .NET is not detecting S60 3rd edition.

    CAn anybody help me.

  12. #12
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,048

    Re: S60 3rd Edition <not available>

    If you have NDS then you need to upgrade to Carbide.vs 2.0.1, this is the tool that supports S60 3.0.

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    18

    Re: S60 3rd Edition <not available>

    Hi,

    Actually I have carbide 2.0.1 already installed but I think there might be some settings that are needed to be done or some path is to be set.

    Help plz.

  14. #14
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,048

    Re: S60 3rd Edition <not available>

    Well, if you already have 2.0.1, then your old 2.1 projects certainly will not build out-of-the box with 3.0 and you cannot replace the S60 3.0 SDK into projects that you have created with/for an S60 2.x SDK.

    In Carbide.vs, 3.0 projects are of a different project type (Symbian9). If you had a project that worked with a S60 2.x SDK, then you need to port that application to 3.0. In tools terms that involves Cloning the project. See the Carbide Help for how to Clone and what steps you need to take in addition to cloning. As you have deleted the S60 2.x SDK the currenly existing project is no longer buildable, suggest you reinstall the 2.1, it can exist togehter with 3.0.

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,980

    Re: S60 3rd Edition <not available>

    You'd better install SDK in C: and your SystemRoot is C:\WINNT when you use Carbide.vs.

Similar Threads

  1. SyncML API and S60 3rd edition?
    By harri_salminen in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2008-03-20, 14:50
  2. S60 2nd OR 3rd edition for new software development
    By patil_ruturaj in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-06-30, 09:30
  3. S60 2nd OR 3rd edition for new software development
    By patil_ruturaj in forum Mobile Java Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-06-30, 08:57
  4. What is going on with Vibration on S60?
    By amd_rikus in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-06-16, 00:29

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×