Discussion Board

Question regarding Java vs Symbian C++

I am an Art student and i'm writing a report about java and symbian c++, so I would like to do a little research here about advantages of Java, as I known, using Symbian C++ can use more functionalities than Java, but I'd like to know some details regarding in terms of speed, stability, functionality and compatibility.

speed:
    C++ sounds to be faster than Java as it is compiled to native code. What about speed for graphics? Symbian C++ seems to have some graphical accelerator functions that Java does not have, but was KVM implemented in a way that acceleration is automatic?

stability:
    two well-written program, using Java and Symbian C++ respectively, which is more stable? Or, which language is more easier to write stable program?

functionality:
    Java seems to have less control of the system, but more JSRs can let MIDlet have more functionalities, what about symbian C++?

compatibility:
    Program written in Symbian C++ can be used only in Symbian OS, but Symbian OS also supports Java MIDlet. How difficult/easy to migrate a Java/Symbian C++ program from one handset to another?

Please help me for above questions, thanks a lot.

Re: Question regarding Java vs Symbian C++

Native Symbian software are a lot faster than Java software in everysense (at least in my experience). So if the application needs raw processing power or in some cases raw pixel processing power, then you should choose Symbian. But for the development speed, i'd say it's easier to create the application with JavaME, but you won't be able to use all the features in the phones.

JSRs will let MIDlets use more functionality in the phones, but with Symbian you can access them right away, without waiting for JSR implementations, and also you can access features that might never get a JSR implementation.