×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    272

    Codewarrior freezes

    I've been using Codewarrior 3.1 Pro edition for a couple of weeks now, and I'm experiencing a very annoying problem. Pretty often (right now it seems to happen every time) I build something, it compiles, links and then it just freezes for a period of time (around a minute or so), during which time the whole app is unusable. It doesn't actually seem to do anything, it doesn't seem to access the disk or use much CPU. It's like it's waiting for something to time-out.

    Other people here have seen this problem on some computers, while it seems to work fine on most machines. Does anyone have any clue as to what the problem might be?

  2. #2
    (Retired) Nokia Developer Admin.
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    4,664

    Re: Codewarrior freezes

    Do you have optimizations on? This is often a sign of optimizations happening.

    More information might be useful, ie. are there other applications in the back ground are you loading an emulator or debugging. etc.

    Ron

  3. #3
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,143

    Re: Codewarrior freezes

    also if you are debugging key events etc, you might want to try pressing F11 twice, it sometimes helps.

    yucca

  4. #4
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    272

    Re: Codewarrior freezes

    I don't believe that these freezes are related to optimization, as they happen after linking seems to have finished (I doubt that Codewarrior does any fancy object code reordering or anything like that after linking).

    It also has a tendency to freeze mysteriously for a minute or two when I open a workspace, which implies that this is not something that's supposed to happen.

    I don't know what other information might be relevant in this case. I'm building for the winscw udeb target. This happens irrespective of whether I have other apps running in the background, but most of the time I don't have anything bus or CPU intensive going on. The emulator is not running.

  5. #5
    (Retired) Nokia Developer Admin.
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    4,664

    Re: Codewarrior freezes

    I'll move this to the CodeWarrior Carbide board to be sure they see it.

    I remember a bug many years ago just like this where moving the mouse would break from an apparent freeze but that was on an Mac

    Matts any thoughts?

    Ron

  6. #6
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    272

    Re: Codewarrior freezes

    It seems I can minimize the freezes by closing all open files in Codewarrior before building. This might just have been a coincidence, though...

  7. #7
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    272

    Re: Codewarrior freezes

    It seems it's the Symbolics Window that somehow causes the freezes. If I close it, the freezes disappear.

  8. #8
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Malmö, Sweden
    Posts
    157

    Re: Codewarrior freezes

    I'm quite sure this problem was present in 3.0 too, though not as bad as in 3.1...

    Might also be a bit computer dependant, I switched computers at the same time as I switched codewarrior versions.

  9. #9
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Austin, TX USA
    Posts
    271

    Re: Codewarrior freezes

    Do you have any network drives in your path that are not connected? It could be some kind of network timeout issue.

    Regards,

    Matt P.

  10. #10
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    272

    Re: Codewarrior freezes

    No, there are no network drives in my path at all.

  11. #11
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Austin, TX USA
    Posts
    271

    Re: Codewarrior freezes

    Does the freeze happen every single build, or does it only start happening after the first time or two?

    Regards,

    Matt P.

  12. #12
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    272

    Re: Codewarrior freezes

    If the Symbolics window is open, it'll happen every time (and when you open the workspace you also get a freeze). The duration of the freeze seems to vary. I don't have any statistics, though.

  13. #13
    (Retired) Nokia Developer Admin.
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    4,664

    Re: Codewarrior freezes

    Quote Originally Posted by ptrmn
    If the Symbolics window is open, it'll happen every time (and when you open the workspace you also get a freeze). The duration of the freeze seems to vary. I don't have any statistics, though.
    Is the symbolics window open because you did not complete debug operation. There is something nagging in the back of my head that says this is how it worked with Palm when you closed the debug session rather than ending it, something about the emulator having to time out before it would close things.

    Anyway this is a thought and see if it does this if your debug cycle actually ends.

    Ron

  14. #14
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    272

    Re: Codewarrior freezes

    I don't know what the correct way of completing debugging would be. Shift+F5 should be okay, right? That doesn't close the symbolics window, though. Are there other ways?

  15. #15
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Malmö, Sweden
    Posts
    157

    Cool Re: Codewarrior freezes

    Symbolics window is giving me a lot of problems.

    Its not only linking that hangs, a lot of places it just is... slow... as long as the symbolics window is open.

    Even things like AutoComplete popup menues are order of magnitudes slower when the symbolics window is open.

    As soon as its closed, most things return to normal again.

    But...
    Since I like to be part of the sollution, instead of the problem, I wrote this very simple little program to solve it.
    A bit unconventional maybe, but it does its job.

    It will sit in your taskbar and monitor windows.
    As soon as you start epoc.exe, it will notice, and then monitor when you close epoc.exe again.
    10-20s after epoc.exe is closed, it will close symbolics windows for you.

    If anyone is too paranoid to run binaries, PM me and I will give you source code. For the convenient people, here is the binary:

    http://alh.underlandstudios.com/anti...isymbolics.exe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •