×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    10

    Unhappy IMEI for N70 or any S60 Platforms?

    These are some questions for nokia company guys:

    1- IS THERE ANY WAY TO RETRIVE NOKIA N70 IMEI NUMBER USING J2ME? HOW?

    2- IS IMEI THAT IMPORTANT TO MAKE IT IMPOSSIBLE FOR DEVELOPER TO RETRIVE ALTHOUGH YOU CAN RETRIVE IT BY *#06#?

    3- SHOULD I GO BACK AND BUY S40 PHONE TO BE ABLE TO USE:
    System.getProperty("com.nokia.mid.imei")?

    4- HOW CAN I GET SOMTHING UNIQE FOR NOKIA N70 MOBILE?

    please, i beg you tell me somthing usefull?

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA, CA
    Posts
    7,192

    Re: IMEI for N70 or any S60 Platforms?

    1. Unfortunately no
    I have to skip no 2. as I have no comments on that.
    3. Most likely does not make sense, as you need to sign the midlets either in operator or manufacturer domain
    4. tough question. phone number might or might not be in the headers, when connecting to a server, the server could then return the number to the device (but it does not work always and the solution requires a server component as well as uses data transfer)

    Sorry to bring the bad news,
    Hartti

  3. #3
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    9,545

    Re: IMEI for N70 or any S60 Platforms?

    For J2ME apps, you could also look into OMA DRM v2 support for protecting the .jar file that way. Might not be applicable, except on S60 3rd Edition based devices.

    You can also write a C++ service to get the IMEI, and then use a socket call from J2ME to retrieve it. Of course, anyone could replace the service, unless you also implement a secure authentication mechanism for the socket connection/your protocol.

Similar Threads

  1. Retrieving/Configuring IMEI on S60 Emulator
    By obrand in forum Tools and SDK Feedback (Closed)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-09-14, 20:59
  2. What is going on with Vibration on S60?
    By amd_rikus in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-06-16, 00:29
  3. Speed differences between s40 and s60 platforms
    By blacksalt in forum General Development Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-05-31, 22:48
  4. Will ActiveSync be available for existing s60 platforms?
    By Blackbridge in forum OMA DM/DS/CP
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-03-16, 08:52

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •