×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    135

    CAPABILITIES issue...

    Hi,

    I develop an application that has the following file structure(each file containing the following LIBRARIES):


    1. P1.exe: - apparc.lib eikcore.lib euser.lib estor.lib avkon.lib eiksrv.lib cone.lib apgrfx.lib ws32.lib aknskins.lib aknskinsrv.lib aknswallpaperutils.lib efsrv.lib fbscli.lib bitgdi.lib estlib.lib
    2. L1.dll: - euser.lib cone.lib eikcore.lib avkon.lib eikcoctl.lib eikdlg.lib efsrv.lib bafl.lib estor.lib ws32.lib estlib.lib L7.lib
    3. L2.dll - eikcore.lib euser.lib cone.lib bafl.lib efsrv.lib eikcoctl.lib ws32.lib estlib.lib L7.lib
    4. L3.dll - euser.lib cone.lib bafl.lib avkon.lib eikcoctl.lib eikdlg.lib eikcore.lib efsrv.lib gdi.lib ws32.lib estlib.lib fbscli.lib bitgdi.lib L7.lib
    6. L4.dll - euser.lib bafl.lib cone.lib eikcore.lib apgrfx.lib sendas2.lib apparc.lib avkon.lib eikcoctl.lib eikctl.lib eikdlg.lib efsrv.lib estor.lib ws32.lib estlib.lib fbscli.lib bitgdi.lib L7.lib
    7. L5.dll - euser.lib cone.lib avkon.lib eikctl.lib eikcore.lib eaxp.lib estlib.lib efsrv.lib esock.lib http.lib commonengine.lib bafl.lib InetProtUtil.lib commdb.lib Etel3rdParty.lib ws32.lib
    8. L6.dll - euser.lib, estor.lib
    9. P2.exe - euser.lib, apparc.lib, cone.lib, eikcore.lib, avkon.lib, efsrv.lib, bitgdi.lib, ws32.lib, fbscli.lib, estlib.lib, http.lib, InetProtUtil.lib, commdb.lib,l esock.lib, bafl.lib, ezlib.lib, CommonEngine.lib

    Code:
    P1.exe  --> L1.dll --------------------> L7.lib --> L5.dll --> L6.dll
                  |         |                         |
                  |         |                         |
                   ------> L2.dll ------> L4.dll -----
                                     |                |
                                     |                |
                                      --> L3.dll ----
                                                      |
    P2.exe -------------------------------------------
    P1.exe loads Intro.dll that has linked static library L7.lib
    L7.lib loads L5.dll that has linked static library L6.dll
    P1.exe also loads L2.dll that load L3.dll and L4.dll
    L3.dll and L4.dll have linked the L7.lib static library
    P2.exe has linked the L7.lib


    QUESTION

    What capabilities each library should have(P1.exe P2.exe L1.dll L2.dll L3.dll L4.dll L4.dll L6.dll L7.lib)?

    L7.lib is a static library
    L6.dll is a static DLL

    L1.dll L2.dll L3.dll L4.dll L5.dll are polymorphic DLLs

    Using the CodeWarrior DebugMessages and eliminating all *PlatSec* ERROR - Capability check failed warnings I have the following capabilities:

    P1.exe - NetworkServices NetworkControl
    L1.dll - NetworkServices NetworkControl
    L2.dll - NetworkServices NetworkControl
    L3.dll - NetworkServices NetworkControl
    L4.dll - NetworkServices NetworkControl
    L5.dll - NetworkServices NetworkControl
    L6.dll - NetworkServices NetworkControl TCB

    now the emulator is capability warning free, but when I run the application on a real device and access a method from L1.dll the application is crashing. I've noticed that when linking for GCCE, more libraries are needed than linking for WINSCW. Maybe the warning system of EPOC is not capable to replicate the exact capabilities request from the device.

    So I'm thinking maybe I need to include capabilities like ReadDeviceData , WriteDeviceData , ReadUserData , WriteUserData, etc...


    Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by GeKI; 2006-10-05 at 23:06.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    21

    Re: CAPABILITIES issue...

    Hi,

    Networkcontrol and TCB needs manufacturer approval.

    Hope this helps...

    Winfoware

  3. #3
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    28,684

    Re: CAPABILITIES issue...

    It is almost impossible that you ever get the TCB capability.

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,166

    Re: CAPABILITIES issue...

    there is also new document available on how to get manufacturer approved capabilities. You can download it from documents section.

    yucca

  5. #5
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wiltshire, UK
    Posts
    3,644

    Re: CAPABILITIES issue...

    I think the problem is actually unrelated to capabilities (Due to dynamic loading rules), rather, I think there is a problem loading the DLL (missing import, or not built correctly). However saying that, if your dll requiring TCB is not a system DLL that is already signed, you are out of luck.

    I would you check how you are loading the DLL's

    I would also recommend you check the error code and/or panic codes to see why you are getting a crash.

  6. #6
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    135

    Re: CAPABILITIES issue...

    I think the problem is the DLL structure, I can load it with error 0 as response, but now when I check the 2nd UID is missmatch. now I'm sure is not from capabilities, despite the fact that in a previous version of my app. I received an -46 error code(system security restriction) when loading that DLL.

    Thanks for your replays

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    21

    Re: CAPABILITIES issue...

    Hi,

    Networkcontrol and TCB needs manufacturer approval.

    Hope this helps...

    Winfoware

  8. #8
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    135

    Re: CAPABILITIES issue...

    I have developer certificate for all capabilities except DRM.

    the problem I think it was the UIDs weren't from protected range. now I replace the UIDs in all projects the DLL is loading fine.

Similar Threads

  1. How to find messaging app or MTM capabilities?
    By peter27roberts in forum Symbian Networking & Messaging (Closed)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-10-06, 15:43
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2006-09-01, 15:56
  3. Capabilities needed for constructing/deleting CTelephony object?
    By mgroeber9110 in forum Symbian Networking & Messaging (Closed)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-08-14, 13:45
  4. CSendUi: what capabilities?
    By borquist in forum Symbian Networking & Messaging (Closed)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-04-05, 11:29
  5. Capabilities
    By djazia in forum Symbian
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2003-08-05, 12:43

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×