Discussion Board

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

New to Symbian and Carbide C++

Hi everybody,
    I'm new to Symbian. But I'm good in C/C++, and though of stating development in Symbian platform. Can somebody help me finding a starting spot in doing development in symbian platform using carbide C++. e-book/tutorial will be grate.
    And also I would like to know is't possible to do Symbian kernel level developments using carbide C++ (like kgcc/gcc in linux to write modules in linux kernel). If not what are the possible alternatives to do such things in C/C++ environment.

thanks a lot in advance,

stmichael161

Nokia Developer Moderator

Re: New to Symbian and Carbide C++

All SDKs - and the Carbide itself too - include some getting started guide. You can get one from http://www.forum.nokia.com/info/sw.n...16-3.0-mr.html (if you have a specific device, you can find out its S60 version on www.forum.nokia.com/devices). It is sure that you will need to get ActivePerl (from www.activestate.com) if you have not got one yet.

Thanks wizard_hu for quick reply.
    Of course ActivePerl is intalled. infact all the software necessities are with me now (SDK's) and have installed. I just needed starting guid (i mean programming stuff;tutorial or something;hello world). still I wont be using the actual devices but only the emulaters though PC suit's r with me already.

Hi stmichael161,
    You can create HelloWorld application using wizard from carbide. You can use it as a starting point.
    For help, you can use SDK Help that you get when you install the SDK.

best regards,
    Ronald

thanks ronald.

Regular Contributor

Post Re: New to Symbian and Carbide C++

All that tools required sequence installations, otherwise it wont work

Ok right. So what would be the correct sequence. already I know that Activeperl must installe before the SDK's(for example Nokia S60 developer SDK)

Network Monitpring Report

Hi everybody,