×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    30

    Carbide C++ madness #2

    The emulator take 30 sec to load completely (on a 4 GHz machine)

    aftermath:

    One work day: with 20 emulator tests: 10 minutes
    One week: 50 min
    One month (21 work days): 210 min
    One year: 2520 min ( 42 Std) response time

    Great !

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,165

    Re: Carbide C++ madness #2

    you could always just exit your applications and re-build it without exiting the app it-self, then you would need to start the emulator only ones. Anyway, all chnages to RSS files would always require re-starting emulator and sometimes crashes on the application will also require re-starting before break-points would work correctly.

    yucca

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    30

    Re: Carbide C++ madness #2

    Thanks for reply,

    <
    <you could always just exit your applications and re-build it without exiting the <app it-self,

    How ?

    This is possible with uiq and the p990 emulator, here is a standard menu item named "(exit debug)"

    I never seen this option in a s60 3rd project.

    Where can I exit my application and rebuild. When I stop my s60 app in the debugger (pressing the red stop button) the emulator terminates. I found no way to exit the app witout terminating the emulator.

    best regards
    Daniel

  4. #4
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    985

    Re: Carbide C++ madness #2

    @yucca: How do you do that in Carbide.c++? I always get the message "A debug session is running... bla bla... Please kill the existing session".

    I know we can close the application and recompile it in CodeWarrior. Unfortunately, I haven't managed to do the same thing in Carbide.c++.

    Antony

  5. #5
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,165

    Re: Carbide C++ madness #2

    Thanks antony, infact I have been using carbine quite not too much, and I really thought that I had done it in a way I would have with codewarrior, anyway, seems to be that my last post was indeed mis-information, just verified that as soon as the emulator runs, it is not possible to re-build the exe anymore, sorry about my mistake on not checking this throughly before posting.

    hmmh, this problem propably will delay also my tool changes to the carbide, since this feature really makes it impossible to work with laptop.

    yucca

  6. #6
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    985

    Re: Carbide C++ madness #2

    @yucca: Yes, I agree this feature is important, especially for us who don't have very fast machine.

    Antony

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    30

    Re: Carbide C++ madness #2

    It seems that carbide has this feature.
    The s60 SDK needs something like EQikCmdFlagDebugOnly
    The menu item that allows you to close only the app is:

    QIK_COMMAND
    {
    id = EEikCmdExit;
    type = EQikCommandTypeScreen;
    // Indicate that this command will only be visible in debug
    stateFlags = EQikCmdFlagDebugOnly;
    text = STRING_r_zzz_close_debug_cmd;
    },


    Is there an equivalent in S60 SDK ?

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    30

    Re: Carbide C++ madness #2

    @yucca

    ok, I just installed codewarrior.

    Could you explain me how to close my app on emulator and rebuild it
    so that I have to start the emulator only one times ??

  9. #9
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,165

    Re: Carbide C++ madness #2

    basically just press exit (or any other key that normally closes your application), anyway, resource files are locked, thus if you change them, then you need to re-start the emulator. Also sometimes if you get a crash in your application, it could be that you would need to re-start the emulator, but othervise it should work just fine.

    yucca

  10. #10
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,165

    Re: Carbide C++ madness #2

    Juat figured out why I thought that it would work like codewarrior. Basically if you use Run instead of debug, then you can re-build the application while emulator is still running, thus, if you don't need breakpoints etc, you could also just run it and get it working faster that way.

    yucca

  11. #11
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    985

    Re: Carbide C++ madness #2

    Thanks yucca for the info. It helps a lot.
    It is one of the reason I haven't completely switch to Carbide.c++ because the emulator's startup is so slow.

    Antony

  12. #12
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    2,037

    Re: Carbide C++ madness #2

    Hi antonypr,

    1/ why you running the emulator in debug mode so often? I normally start the emulator and I debug it only few times per day, normally release build is enough for me... I have informations logged into text file in all methods, so it's enought for me to start linux "tail" utility on 2nd monitor to know exactly and quickly what happening in application...

    2/ Anyway you're right that Carbide.c++ is slow and full of bugs, I'm little dissapointed with this tool, but I understand that this is the very first release,so we should be patient. I will use probably CW for at least one another year until I'll switch to Carbide.c++

    What's the pitty that there is not competitive IDE for S60/UIQ on the market , becuase CW will not be supported longer...

    Regards,
    STeN

  13. #13
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,165

    Re: Carbide C++ madness #2

    I wouldn't bet on CW not been supported by OS 9.3, just remembering that is appears to be a pattern to tell everybody that something will not be supported in future, mainly to get them to change to something else, and then when lots of people are not changing on time, they'll extend the support. So good to prepare for switching to Carbide, but would think that next year at least should be ok with CW. And maybe they'll get carbine fixed by then.

    yucca

Similar Threads

  1. "The input line is too long" error when linking in Carbide c++
    By jdenis007 in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2007-03-22, 23:36
  2. Problems we are facing with Carbide C++. Please help with the solutions
    By bharath_hegde in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-11-15, 18:22
  3. Carbide C++ madness #1
    By koreson in forum Carbide.c++ IDE and plug-ins (Closed)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-10-30, 02:52
  4. Import\Export Project Problem in Carbide
    By mohsin.sohail in forum Carbide.c++ IDE and plug-ins (Closed)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-07-17, 20:20
  5. Issues with Carbide vs 2.0 installer!
    By kt10208 in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-01-16, 09:27

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×