×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    364

    Listbox Inside a form

    Hi m I have a list of vendor names stored in a dynamic array , I designed a form that have the following information:

    Customer Name:
    Store No#: Address:

    But I need also to Include on this form the following vendor list:
    Vendor Name:
    -Peter
    -Welson
    -Sally
    .
    .
    .,etc

    logically I think that I need to present the vendor names in (ListBox) so How I can include the list box on the form? If not possible how I present this data in list format ?
    I need to Use a list box because the user will select the vendor name from a list to do further process and inquires.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Bengaluru, India
    Posts
    747

    Re: Listbox Inside a form

    In 2.x SDK check the Pop-up Field Example, it may help you out.

  3. #3
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Oulu, Finland.
    Posts
    1,174

    Re: Listbox Inside a form

    hi

    Here is my example on preparing list box using file http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...ad.php?t=77730


    I haven't tried to place list in form, so i can't tell you about that.


    Hope this helps.
    Regards,
    vasant.

  4. #4
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    364

    Re: Listbox Inside a form

    Quote Originally Posted by vasant21
    hi

    Here is my example on preparing list box using file http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...ad.php?t=77730


    I haven't tried to place list in form, so i can't tell you about that.


    Hope this helps.
    Regards,
    vasant.
    Thanks I'll try to test it now , and telling you later.

  5. #5
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Brebes, Indonesia
    Posts
    129

    Re: Listbox Inside a form

    why not display all information in LIST ?
    http://blogehendrawan.blogspot.com - Kembangin symbian di Indonesia yukk....

  6. #6
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    364

    Re: Listbox Inside a form

    Quote Originally Posted by hendrawan.ashari
    why not display all information in LIST ?
    It is Not Logic I need to display The Customer name and a list name for all vendors this customer deal with (Master Detail format).

  7. #7
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Bangalore,India
    Posts
    2,146

    Re: Listbox Inside a form

    I am assuming you are assuing CAknForm, you can add the listbox in the resource file using something like this ->

    --------------------------
    RESOURCE DIALOG r_aknexform_text_field_dialog
    {
    flags = * Whatever Flags u desire* ;
    buttons = *Create your Button List and add it here;
    form = r_aknexform_text_field_form;
    }

    RESOURCE FORM r_aknexform_text_field_form
    {
    items =
    {
    DLG_LINE
    {
    type = EEikListBox;
    prompt = *Label for your form*;
    id = EListBoxId;
    itemflags = *If you want any*;
    control = LISTBOX
    {
    flags = *Whatever Flags u want*;
    array_id = r_demo_listbox_items;
    }
    }
    }
    }


    RESOURCE ARRAY r_demo_listbox_items
    {
    items =
    {
    LBUF { txt = "Whatever u want to add here"; },
    LBUF { txt = "Whatever u want to add here"; },
    LBUF { txt = "Whatever u want to add here"; }
    };
    }

    ----

    And then ofcourse if u want to access the listbox in your code u can always do something like..

    CEikListBox* myListBox = (CEikListBox*)Control(EListBoxId);

    and then use the listBox pointer to add/modify what u want progrmatically.

    -------------

    Cheers

  8. #8
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    364

    Re: Listbox Inside a form

    Quote Originally Posted by mayankkedia
    I am assuming you are assuing CAknForm, you can add the listbox in the resource file using something like this ->

    --------------------------
    RESOURCE DIALOG r_aknexform_text_field_dialog
    {
    flags = * Whatever Flags u desire* ;
    buttons = *Create your Button List and add it here;
    form = r_aknexform_text_field_form;
    }

    RESOURCE FORM r_aknexform_text_field_form
    {
    items =
    {
    DLG_LINE
    {
    type = EEikListBox;
    prompt = *Label for your form*;
    id = EListBoxId;
    itemflags = *If you want any*;
    control = LISTBOX
    {
    flags = *Whatever Flags u want*;
    array_id = r_demo_listbox_items;
    }
    }
    }
    }


    RESOURCE ARRAY r_demo_listbox_items
    {
    items =
    {
    LBUF { txt = "Whatever u want to add here"; },
    LBUF { txt = "Whatever u want to add here"; },
    LBUF { txt = "Whatever u want to add here"; }
    };
    }

    ----

    And then ofcourse if u want to access the listbox in your code u can always do something like..

    CEikListBox* myListBox = (CEikListBox*)Control(EListBoxId);

    and then use the listBox pointer to add/modify what u want progrmatically.

    -------------

    Cheers
    Thanks for your comment , the design above is sutible for static type of list box ,as I stated befoe that I want to Get The Names Of The Vendor from the database any way I'll test It today and tell you the result when I finish testing thanks again for your help I'm apprecited.

  9. #9
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Bangalore,India
    Posts
    2,146

    Re: Listbox Inside a form

    Hi,

    Yes in that case what you can do is..leave the resource array empty..create the array progrmatically and then append it to the textbox by doing something like this ->

    -----------------------
    TInt count; // Get the array size in this var..using your code
    CDesC16ArrayFlat* myArray = CDesC16ArrayFlat::NewL(count);
    CEikListBox* myListbox = (CEikListBox*)Control(EMyListBoxId);
    CTextListBoxModel* myListBoxModel = myListBox->Model();

    // Append what all u need to append to the myArray

    myListBoxModel->SetItemTextArray(myArray);
    --------------
    This should solve your problems...ofcourse make sure to take care of the Cleanupstack issues..as i have not pushed or popped anything in the code.


    Also check this link..it might be helpful

    http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...hp/t-3616.html


    Cheers

  10. #10
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Brebes, Indonesia
    Posts
    129

    Re: Listbox Inside a form

    want to Get The Names Of The Vendor from the database
    U can get the name vendor from your database and use
    yourArray->AppendL(yourVendorName); // yourVendorName must be sincrone with your list

    I wish help you.
    http://blogehendrawan.blogspot.com - Kembangin symbian di Indonesia yukk....

  11. #11
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    364

    Re: Listbox Inside a form

    Thanks for you all It Works Fine.
    Last edited by mubx2000; 2006-11-11 at 11:21.

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    23

    Re: Listbox Inside a form

    I use code as following:

    CEikListBox* myListBox = (CEikListBox*)Control(ESelectionListControl);
    CTextListBoxModel* myListBoxModel = myListBox->Model();
    myListBoxModel->SetItemTextArray(array);


    but, error occur as following:

    1.undefined identifier 'Control';
    2.illegal implicit conversion from 'MListBoxModel *' to 'CTextListBoxModel *'

    Thanks!

    Adrian

  13. #13
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Hyderabad,India
    Posts
    1,156

    Re: Listbox Inside a form

    Quote Originally Posted by mscheng
    I use code as following:
    CEikListBox* myListBox = (CEikListBox*)Control(ESelectionListControl);
    CTextListBoxModel* myListBoxModel = myListBox->Model();
    myListBoxModel->SetItemTextArray(array);[/I]

    but, error occur as following:

    1.undefined identifier 'Control';
    2.illegal implicit conversion from 'MListBoxModel *' to 'CTextListBoxModel *'
    1)i dont find a function named Control() in the class CEikListBox atleast in the public sdk.

    2) i guess you need to use something like this.

    Code:
    CDesCArray* array = static_cast<CDesCArray*> (iListBox->Model()->ItemTextArray());
    Priju

  14. #14
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Bangalore,India
    Posts
    2,146

    Re: Listbox Inside a form

    That code should have worked...I will check it out..u could also try something like this then :-

    ----
    // get listbox item array

    MDesCArray* textArray = list->Model()->ItemTextArray();

    CDesCArray* itemList = static_cast<CDesCArray*>(textArray);

    // construct new item, build

    _LIT(KNewItem, "New item..");

    TBuf<32> item;

    item.Format(_L("\t%S\t\t"), &KNewItem);

    // append new item to the listbox

    itemList->AppendL(item);

    // update listbox

    list->HandleItemAdditionL();
    ------------

    This would work just fine in your case..and instead of that one item that has been added in the code..u can put a for loop or something and keep adding the contents till u have them..and then call handleitemaddition at the end of it..to update and redraw the listbox.

    Cheers
    mayank

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2006-10-07, 07:53
  2. display form on click of listbox item
    By Kapil Kaushik in forum Symbian
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-03-16, 09:38
  3. Listbox & Form
    By tukaram in forum Symbian
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-06-28, 05:24
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2003-07-18, 04:05
  5. Adding a listbox to a form 'pages' resource?
    By advocatee in forum Symbian User Interface
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2003-07-08, 15:13

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •