Discussion Board

Thumbs down Symbian C++ or MDIP: some newbie questions

Greetings

first of all, please apology if this thread is in the wrong place, but I want to start developing nokia based applications and don't know quite sure where to post for help.

I'm a programmer with large experience with the .NET platform, Java and PHP, and now I have a project that needs me to develop a client application for Nokia S60 devices. I'm gathering some info on the internet about the S60 platform development and I must say that I'm very confused. I need to make a decision about what to use in order to develop S60 apps, and I can't make that decision. So I ask the expert community to please give some guidance to this newbie here I am sure that the questions I have some other people (newbies to the nokia development) have too.

The application I want to develop needs, in a fisrt state, to communicate with a server to download some data, that needs to be stored on the device, for offline use. At any time, the user can communicate again with the server to download updated data. The communication is one way: server to device. For this I will use a .NET WebService. Now from here things start getting fuzy to me:

* the Nokia S60 develop can be made using several platforms/languages: Symbian based C++, MDIP, and FlashLite, to name a few. Does the Symbian C++ support communications with WebServices? And does the Java MDIP too? And the FlashLite?

* does these technologies support data storing (databases, or other)? I heared that it is possible to store data on apps based on Symbian C++ and MDIP, but don't know how it is done; if it is SQL-based databases, or others formats. Can you give a hint about where can I find docs about data storage on Nokia S60 devices?