Discussion Board

Regular Contributor

Carbide.c++ Express Problems

Hi,

I am working on a project that involves using mobile phone and WiFi protocols. However, I am new to Symbian development (but not to C++), so I am trying to get to grips with it by building the simple HelloWorld app. I had previously tried to get the SDK to work with the Visual C++ 6.0 IDE, but I was having a lot of problems in trying to get it to work, also I read in a forum that this IDE did not support the 3rd Edition SDK.
    So now I have got the Symbian 3rd Edition FP1 SDK and the Carbide.c++ Express IDE. I have followed the tutorial to generate a workspace, which I understand can be built straight away. The workspace is in a path with no spaces and the SDK has been installed to the default directory.
    When I try to build the project I have created, I get the following error:

ERROR: Unable to open file for reading! \Symbian\9.2\S60_3rd_FP1_3\epoc32\wins\c\system\temp\s3k0.tmp\C__Symbian_Carbide_Workspace2_HelloCarbide_gfx_qgn_menu_HelloCarbide.svgb

Also, whenever I start the build, I get a Windows error part of the way through saying that "svgtbinencode.exe has encountered a problem and needs to close"...etc. I assume the two are linked somehow, whichmeans it might not even be problem with Carbide.

It would be greatly appreciated if someone explain to me what this error is about, have I messed up the installation somehow? is this SDK supported? I really want to get part this set up point so I can start some actual coding.

Thanks in advance
    Nigel

Nokia Developer Expert

Re: Carbide.c++ Express Problems

I've never seen this one and I don't know why svgtbinencode.exe would be invoked (it's under epoc32\release\winscw\udeb\.

You might try to create a project from a template (File > New > S60 3.0 Project) and build. If there are still problems, try to build from the command-line. At first glance this doesn't look like a Carbide problem.

Thanks,
    Tim

Super Contributor