×

Discussion Board

Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 12345678910 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 142

Thread: Python for UIQ

  1. #31
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    580

    Re: Python for UIQ

    Quote Originally Posted by raph
    Hi



    Sorry, but this the link has expired. Could anyone upload it again?

    Greetings Raph

    ps. have you seen this: http://www.monkeyhouse.eclipse.co.uk/mobile/python.htm ?
    unfortunately this does not work on my a1000. DOn't know about other phones. But project looks discontnued.

  2. #32
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    33

    Re: Python for UIQ

    Can the current .rar file be considered an ultimate and stable version anybody can use?

    I think current .rar file is good enough to use,but I don't test it much.
    Most of it is great work of jython team.
    It also contain some .class from rt.jar of JRE1.1.8.
    The problem is it contained many,many folder.
    So it make FileExploer in UIQ Slower.
    And Distribution should contained source code from Jython website.

    If you can make .sis file for installation that will be great .

    Some Details about Jython.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jython
    http://www.onlamp.com/pub/a/python/2...ythontips.html
    http://www.onjava.com/pub/a/onjava/2...27/jython.html
    http://www-128.ibm.com/developerwork.../j-jython.html
    http://www-128.ibm.com/developerwork...ry/j-alj07064/

    http://www.jython.org/j-jython1-ltr.pdf
    http://www.jython.org/j-jython2-ltr.pdf
    Last edited by bpitk; 2007-01-15 at 08:31.

  3. #33
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Belgium (Europe)
    Posts
    1,352

    Re: Python for UIQ

    hello all ,

    I'm very glad that Jython for UIQ exist now !
    But could I have Jython for S60 also ?

    Congratulation for succeeding to make run Jython for UIQ !

    Regards Cyke64
    pys60 1.4.5 and 2.0.0, pygame, PyS60 CE on E90 and 5800 !

    Find my pys60 extension modules on cyke64.googlepages.com

  4. #34
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    580

    Re: Python for UIQ

    Quote Originally Posted by cyke64
    hello all ,

    I'm very glad that Jython for UIQ exist now !
    But could I have Jython for S60 also ?

    Congratulation for succeeding to make run Jython for UIQ !

    Regards Cyke64
    Why do you want Jython? You have Python on s60!!!

  5. #35
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    580

    Re: Python for UIQ

    please let me know if this installer works on p910 and a1000:
    http://www.planetmobile.it/jumpjack/JythonQ.zip

  6. #36
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    33

    Re: Python for UIQ

    Quote Originally Posted by cassioli
    please let me know if this installer works on p910 and a1000:
    http://www.planetmobile.it/jumpjack/JythonQ.zip
    Hi,cassioli.
    After install JythonQ.sis (and already had folder D:\jython ).
    It do add Icon JythonQ ,but I don't know why,No AWTconsole after click that Icon.(on my SonyEricsson p910i)
    I use this java class to run Jython AWT console,it may help to make .sis file...
    http://isiam.info/dl/jythrun.zip

    If someone can't use JythonQ Icon (liked me),so it need to use jRun as descripted before.

    Here is some code for Jython on UIQ.
    Copy this code into file hellouiq.py,
    and place it in D:\jython (so it will be D:\jython\hellouiq.py)
    Code:
    import sys
    import java.lang
    from java.awt import Frame,Label,Button
    from java.awt.event import ActionEvent
    class hellouiq(Frame):
        def __init__(self):
            self.size=(208,276)
            self.theLabel=java.awt.Label("Hello UIQ!!!",Label.CENTER)
            self.theButton=java.awt.Button("Exit",actionPerformed=self.doExit)
            self.add("Center",self.theLabel)
            self.add("South",self.theButton)
            self.setVisible(1)
        def doExit(self,event):
            java.lang.System.exit(0)
    if __name__=="__main__":
        x=hellouiq()
    (Please notice 4 spaces and 8 spaces)
    or D/L it here...
    http://isiam.info/dl/hello.zip

    To exec .py Script in Jython on UIQ.
    Activate AWT-interactive console,
    and type...

    execfile("D:\\jython\\hellouiq.py")

    and after press "enter" ,Hello program with exit-button will show on your UIQ.
    As you see,Jython program use Java AWT GUI,and easy to programming.
    (It also can use java swing,but it need more files add to do that,I may explained later.)
    Enjoy Python.

    ps-I think "run script" menu in PythonS60 is very nice idea.I may make next version of AWT-console liked that.
    Last edited by bpitk; 2007-01-17 at 10:05.

  7. #37
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    580

    Re: Python for UIQ

    Quote Originally Posted by bpitk
    Hi,cassioli.
    After install JythonQ.sis (and already had folder D:\jython ).
    It do add Icon JythonQ ,but I don't know why,No AWTconsole after click that Icon.(on my SonyEricsson p910i)
    It's your fault if my SIS does not work!!
    You posted this line as contents for jrun.txt :
    -cp c:\jython -Dpython.home=c:\jython org.python.util.jython c:\jython\awtcons.py

    But then you told to install python in D: , and actually you put THIS line in jRun.txt !
    -cp D:\jython -Dpython.home=D:\jython org.python.util.jython D:\jython\awtcons.py

    Just edit JythonQ.txt and it should work.

  8. #38
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    580

    Re: Python for UIQ

    Quote Originally Posted by bpitk
    To exec .py Script in Jython on UIQ.
    Activate AWT-interactive console,
    and type...

    execfile("D:\\hellouiq.py")
    is it possible to statr a jython program from standard applications list?
    I heard about some python to SIS "converters" for s60...

  9. #39
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    33

    Re: Python for UIQ

    Quote Originally Posted by cassioli
    It's your fault if my SIS does not work!!
    You posted this line as contents for jrun.txt :
    -cp c:\jython -Dpython.home=c:\jython org.python.util.jython c:\jython\awtcons.py

    But then you told to install python in D: , and actually you put THIS line in jRun.txt !
    -cp D:\jython -Dpython.home=D:\jython org.python.util.jython D:\jython\awtcons.py

    Just edit JythonQ.txt and it should work.
    Ok. That was my fault,I'm sory.I posted that 2+wks ago.As I worked around,something changed.

    But now,After I edited JythonQ.txt into

    -cp D:\jython -Dpython.home=D:\jython org.python.util.jython D:\jython\awtcons.py

    Then Jython Activation and AWT-console work just fine.You are great!
    And I find something else.
    When I changed JythonQ.txt into

    -cp D:\jython -Dpython.home=D:\jython org.python.util.jython D:\jython\hellouiq.py

    (with hellouiq.py in D:\jython\)
    It can run Jython Application hellouiq.py (,just liked jRun do).
    (And that 's how to start a jython program from standard applications list.)

    ps.-I have problem with AIFbuilder.
    It keep saying internal error : rcomp.exe has return error code 1.
    So that I cannot make any .sis file,and can't start my program from standard applications list.
    I use some thing liked this java class to run Jython AWT console,and change a little code to run other Jython app.
    http://isiam.info/dl/jythrun.zip
    Last edited by bpitk; 2007-01-17 at 10:05.

  10. #40
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    580

    Re: Python for UIQ

    Quote Originally Posted by bpitk
    When I changed JythonQ.txt into

    -cp D:\jython -Dpython.home=D:\jython org.python.util.jython D:\hellouiq.py

    (with hellouiq.py in D:\)
    It can run Jython Application hellouiq.py (,just liked jRun do).
    (And that 's how to start a jython program from standard applications list.)
    Cool!
    This makes it very easy to prepare a standalone jython prog using AIFBUILDER.

    ps.-I have problem with AIFbuilder.
    It keep saying internal error : rcomp.exe has return error code 1.
    So that I cannot make any .sis file,and can't start my program from standard applications list.
    I use some thing liked this java class to run Jython AWT console,and change a little code to run other Jython app.
    http://isiam.info/dl/jythrun.zip
    Never found such an error. Is your sdk properly configured? i.e. , are you able to run the phone emulator?

    Anyway, try checking for spaces in your paths: maybe folder "documents and settings" causes trouble to the tool...

    Please post the whole RCOMP output, as looks like "error 1" is very generic and needs a "context" to be understood.

  11. #41
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    33

    Re: Python for UIQ

    Quote Originally Posted by cassioli
    Never found such an error. Is your sdk properly configured? i.e. , are you able to run the phone emulator?

    Anyway, try checking for spaces in your paths: maybe folder "documents and settings" causes trouble to the tool...

    Please post the whole RCOMP output, as looks like "error 1" is very generic and needs a "context" to be understood.
    Thanks for advice.I changed the path,and receive the same error.

    But now I know,after working around.
    I change UID to between 0x1000000 and 0x8000000,it work just fine.
    I received UID from https://www.symbiansigned.com/app/page
    They give me UID more than 0xA000000,why their UID is not work!
    Is that mean I can only make App. for myself.

    Today I asked symbiansigned.com for Protected Range UID (Why I don't think about this before.)
    They gave me UID below 0x8000000,I can build my own .sis now.
    Last edited by bpitk; 2007-01-17 at 02:38.

  12. #42
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    580

    Re: Python for UIQ

    Quote Originally Posted by bpitk
    Thanks for advice.I changed the path,and receive the same error.

    But now I know,after working around.
    I change UID to between 0x1000000 and 0x8000000,it work just fine.
    I received UID from https://www.symbiansigned.com/app/page
    They give me UID more than 0xA000000,why their UID is not work!
    Is that mean I can only make App. for myself.

    Today I asked symbiansigned.com for Protected Range UID (Why I don't think about this before.)
    They gave me UID below 0x8000000,I can build my own .sis now.
    Months ago, it was very easy to obtain UIDs: you sent an email, they replied with UIDs.
    Now it is VERY complex, in my opinion.
    How did you obtain UIDs? I need UIDs for some freeware applications I'm planning to develop for UIQ2.

  13. #43
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    580

    Re: Python for UIQ

    Quote Originally Posted by bpitk
    Thanks for advice.I changed the path,and receive the same error.

    But now I know,after working around.
    I change UID to between 0x1000000 and 0x8000000,it work just fine.
    can you post the full error log RCOMP returned?
    It will be useful for future reference.

  14. #44
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    33

    Re: Python for UIQ

    Quote Originally Posted by cassioli
    can you post the full error log RCOMP returned?
    It will be useful for future reference.
    In AIFbuilder GUI,it reported :
    internal error : rcomp.exe has return error code 1
    In Command Prompt,it reported:
    rcomp : number too big for LONG

    Quote Originally Posted by cassioli
    How did you obtain UIDs?
    I received Symbian UID from https://www.symbiansigned.com/app/page .
    After registration and log in.
    Choose menu My Symbian Signed.
    >> UIDs >> Request >> choose "Protected Range"
    >> type the details (Organization name,How many UID you need,your e-mail)
    Then submit,they show UIDs for you.

    Today I've improved Jython AWT console.You can D/L here...
    http://isiam.info/dl/awtcons02.zip
    Just replace D:\jython\awtcons.py in your UIQ (that have Jython) with awtcons.py from this .zip file.
    New InterActive console can
    -Decrease/Increase Font.
    -Recall 1 History command.
    -Run .py Script
    Place .py file in D:\jython Folder.
    After start InterActive console,it'll showed .py Script in "Script" menu.
    (Click to run any script.You can try with this script http://isiam.info/dl/hello.zip )

  15. #45
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    580

    Re: Python for UIQ

    Thanks, you are doing really a good job!

    About programming in jython: do you know which phone features jython can access? Things like contacts, messages, ToDos.... can they be accessed using standard jython functions? I guess not...
    If not, do you think it is possible to "tune" the s60 c++ version of Python to get it UIQ compatible? Even without any GUI it would be very useful: I know s60 python can access even complex phone features with just a few lines of code!

Similar Threads

  1. Please help installing Python libraries on S60
    By ericroijen in forum Symbian
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2009-07-18, 10:43
  2. Python for Series 60 released on Forum Nokia!
    By eriksmartt in forum Symbian
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2009-07-14, 17:00
  3. Python 2.2? 2.3?
    By mflux in forum Symbian
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-06-26, 22:36
  4. Python C++ Extension with Callback crashing
    By diggerdeep in forum Symbian
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-11-10, 16:33
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2004-07-18, 00:56

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×