×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    25

    Question Text of StatusPane changes when screen resolution changes

    Hello,

    I've a problem with the status pane text. When the screen resolution changes (in emulator and on real device), the text of the status pane changes to the last added resource text and I can't find the function, where it is set.

    Using Carbide C++ I've created an application with Avkon view switching architecture. The caption is located in a resource file and read by the function SetupStatusPaneL of my view class. When screen resolution changes, HandleStatusPaneSizeChange calls SetupStatusPaneL and rereads the caption string. But after this function call something changes the caption to the last string of my resource file (not the resource file of the view, but from my application).

    Things that I've tried:
    - don't read the caption from the resource file in SetupStatusPaneL, but setting it to a constant string instead
    - changing the .rssi-file, so that the TITLE_PANE points to a string instead of a resource

    Has anybody an idea what is wrong with my application? Hadn't changed much of the code generated from the UI designer.

    Many thanks in advance for any helpfull hints.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    25

    Re: Text of StatusPane changes when screen resolution changes

    Further investigations showed the following strange behaviour:

    The function InitializeContainersL, contained in the class, which is derived from CAknViewAppUi, adds my views to the app UI. The last added view is the one which is responsible for refreshing the status pane during screen resolution change. When I change the order of the AddViewL calls the caption after resolution change changes too.

    Perhaps I have to check in HandleStatusPaneSizeChange of my view class, if the view is activated and skip the call to SetupStatusPaneL if not.

  3. #3
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Bangalore,India
    Posts
    2,146

    Re: Text of StatusPane changes when screen resolution changes

    Hi,

    Are you aware of the apis that we can use to get the screen size and resolutuon of a device.

    I have been trying to find that..if u have that info..can you please share it me.

    Cheers
    mayank

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    25

    Re: Text of StatusPane changes when screen resolution changes

    Hello Mayank,

    in the event SizeChanged() i make a call to GetDefaultScreenSizeAndRotation(). It gives me the current screen size in pixels.

    The code looks like
    Code:
    TPixelsAndRotation ScreenSize;
    iCoeEnv->ScreenDevice()->GetDefaultScreenSizeAndRotation(ScreenSize);
    Regards
    Ishibo San

  5. #5
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Bangalore,India
    Posts
    2,146

    Re: Text of StatusPane changes when screen resolution changes

    Thanks for the code snippet.

    What about the screen resolution..?

    Cheers
    mayank

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-03-24, 08:25
  2. N90 screen resolution
    By thongtom in forum General Development Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2006-01-19, 16:50
  3. How to change screen mode / resolution on S60 3rd edition devices?
    By mriekert in forum Symbian User Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-01-03, 09:31
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2004-11-24, 18:49
  5. StatusPane and text
    By Jeepy in forum Symbian
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2002-12-06, 02:19

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×