×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    4

    Midlet Default Access Point

    I've seen this question come up before but could not see an asnwer.
    How do I set a default access point for a Java application on an E70 so that it doesn't keep asking the user to pick from a list?

    This is important as my company produces j2me business applications and if the user is asked, they get confused or pick the wrong one. I can't see anything in the "Suite Settings", the usual place for doing this.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA, CA
    Posts
    7,191

    Re: Midlet Default Access Point

    This is the normal behavior of S60 phones. The user is asked for the access point to be used. On Series 40 phones the MIDlets use the default access point defined in the phone settings, but there is no such concept on S60 devices.

    Hartti

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    4

    Re: Midlet Default Access Point

    That's a shame, it means we are going to have to reject a phone that would otherwise be ideal for our sort of applications. One of the requirements that we have is that the user is not asked any questions we don't have control over, sooner or later (usually sooner) they will get the answer wrong! Not to mention they find the pop-up annoying since the answer (for them) is always the same.

    Could this be considered for a future firmware update please? Even my old 6320 allows the the connection to be specified.
    Ideal would be like other applications, i.e. have the option to use a default or to ask each time.

  4. #4
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA, CA
    Posts
    7,191

    Re: Midlet Default Access Point

    In the case of E70 - that phone also has WiFi, so limiting the user to use the default access point all the time is not really a good idea. The user might want to user the WiFi access point while sitting in a cafe. However a little later, when sitting in a train he/she might want to use the cellular data. So I would say the answer for your user is most likely not the same all the time.

    Out of curiosity, what kind of business applications is your company (what's the name) working on? You can also contact me through email (click my screen name), if you do not want to share that info here.

    Hartti

Similar Threads

  1. Changing J2ME access point on 7270
    By aidygallagher in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-10-23, 18:52
  2. Midlet and WAP access point!!!
    By khurshed79 in forum Mobile Java Networking & Messaging & Security
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2006-08-24, 09:35
  3. A strange problem about choosing default access point
    By fcsheng in forum Symbian Networking & Messaging (Closed)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-04-19, 06:01
  4. default access point (GPRS)
    By juliaf in forum Symbian Networking & Messaging (Closed)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2005-02-03, 08:00
  5. Connect to WAP Access Point
    By psousa in forum Symbian Networking & Messaging (Closed)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2003-05-08, 14:09

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×