×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    6

    GCCE Linker 'Line too long'

    It seems that we have nearly the same problem dicussed at:

    http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...ht=GCCE+Linker

    but there is no solution.

    After compiling linker stops with:

    'Invoking: GCCE Linker'
    Die eingegebene Zeile ist zu lang.
    make: *** [ProjectName.sym] Error 255

    The problem seems only to happens with GCCE-Linker called from Carbide.
    It is possible to build an exe and sis with command line.

    We bought a Carbide Developer with the hope that the problem is solved with it but it isn't ! This item is still project blocking because we urgent need on-device debugging...

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    399

    Re: GCCE Linker 'Line too long'

    GCCE compiler cannot take search path (-L) paramater for libs so the full path must be passed for libs and objects. Try to subst your SDK to shorten paths.

    If that fails, yes, you can build from the command-line and import the executable then debug your sis with the APP TRK (File > Import Symbian Executable).

    Tim

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    6

    Re: GCCE Linker 'Line too long'

    Thanks for the hint but it didn't work:
    In a dos shell we have done: "subst Y: C:\Symbian\9.1\S60_3rd_MR_3"
    In Carbide Eviroment Configuration we set EPOCROOT to Y: and it seems that the compiler now take "Y:" instead of "C:\Symbian\9.1\S60_3rd_MR_3"
    but the Linker still breaks with:

    'Invoking: GCCE Linker'
    Die eingegebene Zeile ist zu lang.
    make: *** [ProjectName.sym] Error 255

    Have we done it in the right way or is there somithing else we have to do ?

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    399

    Re: GCCE Linker 'Line too long'

    If you lib path looks something like:

    Y:\epoc32\release\armv5\lib

    instead of:

    C:\Symbian\9.1\S60_3rd_MR\epoc32\release\amrv5\lib

    Then it's correct. If it's still too long I think you'll need to import the executable to debug. This should be addressed in the 1.2 release where we'll offer a way to build directly with 'abld build'.

    Tim

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    6

    Re: GCCE Linker 'Line too long'

    So it isn't possible to build a project with about 30 cpp Files with a Carbide Developer V1.1 ??? We cannot believe it.
    When is Carbide 1.2 available ?
    We need a solution now, so is it possible to get a Carbide bugfix version ?

    By the way: after playing with EPOCROOT command line building isn't longer possible: "EPOCROOT must be an absolute path"
    This cannot be fixed with the hints from post195666

  6. #6
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    399

    Re: GCCE Linker 'Line too long'

    Quote Originally Posted by user_stephan
    So it isn't possible to build a project with about 30 cpp Files with a Carbide Developer V1.1 ??? We cannot believe it.
    When is Carbide 1.2 available ?
    We need a solution now, so is it possible to get a Carbide bugfix version ?
    For GCCE I don't think there is fix able becuase of problems with GCCE itself I previously mentioned. For RVCT we can get around this by using search paths and temp files. The GCCE problem does seem to be worse under Win2K than under XP, where I've found the limits to be 2047 and ~32K respecitively.

    Quote Originally Posted by user_stephan

    By the way: after playing with EPOCROOT command line building isn't longer possible: "EPOCROOT must be an absolute path"
    This cannot be fixed with the hints from post195666
    Do you mean "EPOCROOT must NOT be an absolute path". Check the EPOCROOT env var itself and make sure it's not starting with a drive letter.

    Tim

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15

    Re: GCCE Linker 'Line too long'

    One way around is to split up a large project into several smaller ones. I had to do this because the other solutions with subst wouldn't work.

    Is there a way to combine a bunch of .lib files into a single .lib file for easier linking with projects that use the libraries? Something like the 'ar' command on unix/linux perhaps? And I would like to do this in carbide.c++

    Thanks,
    Sherman

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    6

    Re: GCCE Linker 'Line too long'

    Our solution is: don't use Windows 2000
    Since Windows XP it works....

Similar Threads

  1. carbide build problem help please
    By berkcekisbas in forum Carbide.c++ IDE and plug-ins (Closed)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-09-26, 19:41
  2. My BuilderX (with S60 SDK 2.1.NET MS version) cannot build ARMI UREL
    By danielvidonyi@hotmail.com in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-05-04, 21:30
  3. Carbide.c++ Express don't want build HelloWorld
    By azarov-it in forum Carbide.c++ IDE and plug-ins (Closed)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2006-04-09, 11:00
  4. 关于Float的问题,急死了,各位帮忙一下,谢谢!
    By show_up in forum [Archived] Other Programming Discussion 关于其他编程技术的讨论
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2004-08-17, 08:57
  5. PC Connectity with VB6
    By mkintanar in forum PC Suite API and PC Connectivity SDK
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2003-09-24, 04:18

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×