×
Namespaces

Variants
Actions

Archived:Showing a manufacturer disclaimer during application installation on Symbian

From Nokia Developer Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Archived.pngArchived: This article is archived because it is not considered relevant for third-party developers creating commercial solutions today. If you think this article is still relevant, let us know by adding the template {{ReviewForRemovalFromArchive|user=~~~~|write your reason here}}.


Article Metadata
Tested with
Devices(s): Nokia N95 8GB
CompatibilityArticle
Created: tapla (24 Apr 2008)
Last edited: lpvalente (18 Aug 2012)

Contents

Overview

This code snippet demonstrates how to display a manufacturer disclaimer when an application is being installed. This behavior is required at least for VoIP applications that are meant to be sent to Symbian for signing.

This snippet can be self-signed.

data\disclaimer.txt

This is an example of the disclaimer text by Symbian for VoIP applications:

You are about to use <APPLICATION NAME>, which is
developed and owned by <YOUR COMPANY NAME>. The
manufacturer of this device shall have no liability for
any aspect of the application whatsoever, including its
performance, call routing, intellectual property rights
or support.

PKG file

To display the disclaimer to the user, add the following line to the PKG file of your application:

"..\data\disclaimer.txt" - "", FILETEXT, TEXTEXIT

The FILETEXT install option indicates that a file is to be displayed to the user during the installation procedure. The file itself is not installed on the target device (the target location is empty).

The TEXTEXIT install option displays a dialog box with "positive" and "negative" buttons, such as Ok and Cancel. If the dialog returns true (the user pressed Ok), the software installer continues with the installation. If the dialog returns false (the user pressed Cancel), the software installer is exited and any files that have already been installed are removed.

Postconditions

A manufacturer disclaimer is displayed when the application is installed. The user is given the option to continue with the installation or abort it.

See also

This page was last modified on 18 August 2012, at 00:01.
102 page views in the last 30 days.